ABERGAVENNY’S double world champion Becky James leads the Team Wales cyclists that will be competing at the Commonwealth Games in Glasgow.

The 22-year-old will be a leading medal hope at the Sir Chris Hoy Velodrome next month while two-time Olympic champion Geraint Thomas will go for glory on the road.

Thomas and James will be part of a 17-strong cycling team that also includes world team pursuit champion Elinor Barker, world cup medallists Jon Mould, Sam Harrison and Owain Doull and Team Sky pro cyclist Luke Rowe.

On the track, James and Lewis Oliva will compete in the sprint events while Mould, Harrison and Doull will compete in the men’s endurance events. Barker, Ciara Horne, Hayley Jones, Amy Hill and Amy Roberts will form the women’s endurance team.

The men’s road team will consist of Thomas, Rowe, Mould, Harrison, Doull and Scott Davies. The women’s road team will see Barker, Horne, Jones, Roberts and Hill compete in Glasgow.

The introduction of para-cycling events for the first time will see the tandem pairings of Rhiannon Henry and double world champion pilot Rachel James and Matt Ellis and pilot Ieuan Williams compete for Team Wales in the Sir Chris Hoy Velodrome.

Welsh Cycling has worked in partnership with Disability Sport Wales to support these athletes on the way to the Commonwealth Games this summer.

Matt Cosgrove, Welsh Cycling’s Performance Director said: “We have selected a team that is led by strong experienced riders, who have achieved at the highest level of international competition.

“They are supported by a large number of talented young riders who have demonstrated their ability to perform on the world stage.

“We are looking forward to competing at the Commonwealth Games this summer in Glasgow.”

Cycling team: Elinor Barker (Cardiff) track/road, Scott Davies (Carmarthen) road, Owain Doull (Cardiff) track/road, Matt Ellis (Nottingham) track para-cycling, Sam Harrison (Risca) track/road,

Rhiannon Henry (Bridgend) track para-cycling, Amy Hill (Newport) track/road, Ciara Horne (Kenilworth) track/road, Becky James (Abergavenny) track, Rachel James (Abergavenny) track para-cycling pilot, Hayley Jones (Port Talbot) track/road, Jon Mould (Newport) track/road, Lewis Oliva (Monmouthshire) track , Amy Roberts (Carmarthen) track/road, Luke Rowe (Cardiff) road, Geraint Thomas MBE (Cardiff) road, Ieuan Williams (Cardiff) track para-cycling pilot