SIR Bradley Wiggins will not be involved in a two-man shoot-out with defending National Time Trial champion Alex Dowsett for the title next week - says Dowsett himself.

The Championships around Monmouthshire will be the first time that Wiggins has ridden competitively in the UK since crashing and withdrawing from the Tour of Switzerland this week.

He was confident to be fit for the National Time Trials where Wiggins, the 2012 London Olympic gold medalist in the event, is due to face reigning champion Dowsett in a mouth-watering battle for the red, white and blue jersey.

The title has been shared between the two men for the last five years, with Dowsett, 25, from Essex, champion three times in 2011, 2012 and 2013. Wiggins won the title in 2009 and 2010.

And with Dowsett going directly after Wiggins from the start-finish line at the Celtic Manor Resort, Newport, he will have the Tour de France winner in his sights throughout the two laps of the 19.47km course.

But other big names, including Wales' double Olympic Games gold medalist and Tour de France star Geraint Thomas, are also targeting the National Time Trials.

And Dowsett has agreed with Thomas' London 2012 team pursuit gold medal-winning colleague Peter Kennaugh that it is not all about the big two men on Thursday.

Kennaugh tweeted: "All this talk about Wiggins and Dowsett, you forgot about @geraintthomas86 he's going to smash it!"

Dowsett replied: "Agreed. By no means a two-man race."

The National Time Trial Championships start at 1.40pm on Thursday afternoon on a route from the Celtic Manor along closed country roads to the villages of Newbridge-on-Usk and Treddunock before returning via the Usk Road to a left turn into the Celtic Manor and past the 2010 Ryder Cup 18th hole and clubhouse to complete the lap.

The Elite Women's Time Trial, featuring Olympic stars Lizzie Armitstead, Joanna Rowsell, Laura Trott and Dani King, begins at 2.15pm.

The Elite Men's Time Trial will take place over the same course as the other competitions during the afternoon, starting at 6.30pm.

For more information, go to and follow @roadchamps on Twitter.