FURTHER Gwent councils have now formally elected their new leaders.

Caerphilly county borough, and Monmouthshire council joined Newport in officially voting in its leading councillors, and cabinet members this week.

Councillor David Poole was elected the leader of Caerphilly yesterday, after the Labour party retained control of the local authority in the local elections earlier this month.

Cllr Poole said: “I am honoured and humbled to be elected as the leader of the council, and would like to acknowledge and build upon the outstanding legacy that was created by my good friend and colleague Keith Reynolds.

“Caerphilly, like all other local authorities in Wales, face a number of significant challenges, but we are in a good position to navigate through these turbulent economic times thanks to the effective way the council has been run to date.

“We have our ambitious project to bring our council homes up to the Welsh Housing Quality Standard, which continues to progress at quite a pace. Bringing this huge project to fruition will continue to be a key priority for us over the next few years.”

Cabinet members are cllr Barbara Jones, deputy leader and cabinet member for finance, performance and governance; cllr Sean Morgan, economy, infrastructure, sustainability and wellbeing of future generations; cllr Colin Gordon, corporate services; cllr Eluned Stenner, environment and public protection; cllr Nigel George, neighbourhood services; cllr Philippa Marsden, education and achievement; cllr Carl Cuss, social services and wellbeing; and cllr Lisa Phipps, homes and places.

As the Argus reported this week, cllr Debbie Wilcox was re-elected as Labour leader of Newport City Council at a meeting on Tuesday.

Cllr Wilcox, who represents the Gaer ward, said: “I am absolutely delighted to be appointed as the leader of Newport council and the chair of cabinet for this municipal year.

“It has been a great honour and I have really enjoyed myself this last year.

“I am sure this year we will continue to do our best for everyone in Newport.”

The Newport council cabinet consists of cllr Mark Whitcutt, deputy leader; cllr Gail Giles, education and skills; cllr Paul Cockeram, social services; cllr Roger Jeavons, streetscene; cllr Jane Mudd, regeneration and housing; cllr Ray Truman, licensing and regulation; cllr David Mayer, community and resources; and cllr Deb Harvey, culture and leisure, and business manager.

Monmouthshire County Borough Council, meanwhile, also re-elected cllr Peter Fox as the Conservative leader of the council yesterday.

Monmouthshire council’s cabinet consists of Cllr Bob Greeland, enterprise and deputy leader; cllr Phil Murphy, resources; cllr Paul Jordan, governance; cllr Richard John, children and young people; cllr Penny Jones, social care, safeguarding and health; cllr Bryan Jones, county operations; and cllr Sara Jones, social justice and community development.

Torfaen Borough Council and Blaenau Gwent County Borough Council will elect their leaders next Tuesday and Thursday respectively.