3:03pm Sunday 10th June 2012
THE latest part of a £750,000 project aimed at breathing new life into Blackwood Miners’ Institute is set to go ahead.
Work started last year on the historic grade two-listed building, with five months of work cleaning and re-pointing the stone on its front façade.
Other work included making the building watertight, giving it a completely new roof, installing brand new seating in the main auditorium and redecorating the foyer.
A planning application has now been submitted for the latest phase of the work- which will include demolishing the lesser hall at the back of the building to improve vehicle access, with improvements to the shower facilities and changing rooms.
The application also asks for the relocation of wheelchair accessible car parking, the demolition of two small lean-to extensions and extending the building to the rear and the sides.
The facility was built in 1925 using cash from Oakdale Colliery workers and is used by many clubs and organisations as well as hosting the town’s annual pantomime.
Work will be completed later this year, which should safeguard its future.
It started after a year-long campaign led by town councillor Andrew Farian-Childs, who feared for the iconic building.
Former Caerphilly council cabinet member for education, leisure and lifelong learning cllr Phil Bevan called it "a beacon" for theatre, arts and live music in Caerphilly county
© Copyright 2001-2013 Newsquest Media Group