Report this comment
  • "Perhaps Labour can now, without delay, reinstate bus lanes and improve bus public transport in the City. Labour must also recognize there are bus users in places like Rhiwderin, where there has been a progressive erosion of services, limiting the value of what remains. Some common sense needs to be applied. For example, not running services that coincide, and duplicate in time, those provided by Stagecoach, but instead running services at times that do not compete with those provided by Stagecoach. Provide bus shelters where people actually, in the main, wait for buses; not, in some arbitrary location, where the town hall planners imagine they should be. E.g. there should be a bus shelter at the bottom of Cwm Cwddy Drive, where most people from lower Rhiwderin wait, and at the Rhiwderin end of Laurel Drive, in the cityward direction. There needs to be better recognition that people work in the Cleppa Park areas and at the Intellectual Property and ONS Offices warranting better services down Forge Lane, including to these areas. Some services to Rhiwderin could be provided by extensions from Gaer services, where there is very generous service provision, to release capacity and funding for services not currently provided for."
  • This field is mandatory
  • This field is mandatory
  • Please note we will not accept reports with HTML tags or URLs in them.

  • Enter the above word in the box below

COUNCIL ELECTIONS: Live coverage with the Argus

First published in Election news

South Wales Argus: election 2012 icon


* Last Lib Dem in Newport wins by 1 vote* Labour retain control in Torfaen * Labour win control of Caerphilly * Tories lose outright control of Monmouthshire * * Labour take control of Newport * Plaid leader in Caerphilly, Allan Pritchard, loses seat * Labour regain control of Blaenau Gwent

Blaenau Gwent | Caerphilly | Monmouthshire | Newport | Torfaen

YOU can follow all the election news with the Argus tonight.

Our coverage will begin as the polls close and we will bring you results and comment from across Gwent as the votes are declared.

Our team of reporters and photographers will be at Gwent's five local authorities to tell you who is in, who is out and who is in power.

Join us from 10.30pm tonight.

Comments (14)

Please log in to enable comment sorting

Comments are closed on this article.

Send us your news, pictures and videos

Most read stories

Local Info

Enter your postcode, town or place name

About cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use.

I agree