NEWPORT sprint star Christian Malcolm begins his build-up to the Commonwealth Games this weekend after being named in the Wales team for the Loughborough International Athletics meeting.

The 34-year-old is set to retire after representing Wales at Glasgow 2014 and is named in the 4x100m relay squad for Loughborough.

Malcolm, who turns 35 on June 3, missed the whole of last season because of injury and has yet to set the required Commonwealth Games standard.

By the end of May he needs either to post an A time of 20.50secs or two B efforts of 20.85s in the 200m or alternatively an A standard of 10.20s or two B efforts of 10.30s in the 100m to qualify for Glasgow.

The Loughborough event, at the Paula Radcliffe Athletics Stadium on Sunday, is in its 56th year and is the traditional curtain raiser to the outdoor season

Last year’s event saw stand out performances from a number of London 2012 Olympians including Wales’ Rhys Williams and Brett Morse.

The LIA sees Loughborough students taking on teams from England, Wales, Scotland, GB & NI Juniors, and British Universities in a points match.

Newport's Mica Moore is named as a reserve for the women's 100m.

Wales women (guests/reserves in brackets) - 100m: Hannah Brier (Lucy Evans, Mica Moore); 200m: Hannah Thomas, (Rebecca Williams, Emily Wright, Elaine O’Neill); 400m: Seren Bundy Davies, (Melissa Roberts, Deborah Willis, Laura Maddox); 800m: Julia Cooke, (Jade Williams, Rachel McClay); 1500m: Melissa Courtney (Julia Cooke); 3000m: Georgina Outen; 100mh: Lauren O’Reilly; 400mh: Caryl Granville; 3000m s/c: Emily Brown; Long Jump: Melissa Arthur; High Jump: Annabelle Curle; Pole Vault: Lyndsey Maund, (Bryony Raine); Shot Put: Adele Nicoll; Discus Throw: Adele Nicoll; Hammer Throw: Carys Parry (Laura Douglas); Javelin: Tesni Ward; 4x100m: Rachel Johncock, Hannah Brier, Mica Moore, Hannah Thomas, Elaine O’Neill, Emily Wright, (Lucy Evans); 4x400m: Laura Maddox, Seren Bundy Davies, Rebecca Williams, Melissa Roberts, Deborah Willis, Caryl Granville.

Wales men (guests/reserves in brackets) - 100m: Dewi Hammond; 200m: Lemarl Freckleton, (Gareth Hopkins, Anax Da Silva, Sam Gordon, Adebowale Ademuyewo); 400m: Owen Smith, (Daniel Dell); 800m: Joe Maynard; 1500m: Kyran Roberts, (Guy Smith); 3000m: Mike Ward; 110mh: Glen Elsdon; 400mh: Paul Bennett; 3000m s/c: Jonathan Hopkins; Long Jump: Richardo Curtis; Triple Jump: Gary White; High Jump: Rob Mitchell; Pole Vault: Paul Walker, (Ben Gregory); Shot Put: Ryan Spencer-Jones, (Gareth Winter); Discus Throw: Brett Morse; Hammer Throw: Matt Richards, (Jonathan Edwards, Osian Jones); Javelin: Lee Doran, (Aiden Reynolds); 4x100m: Christian Malcolm, Dewi Hammond, Lemarl Freckleton, Gareth Hopkins, Anax Da Silva, Sam Gordon; 4x400m: Rhys Williams, Owen Smith, Paul Bennett, Adebowale Ademuyewo, Gareth Warburton, Daniel Dell