A TEAM of 16 swimmers have been added to the seven already selected to compete for Team Wales at the Glasgow 2014 Commonwealth Games.

Experienced members of the team Jazz Carlin, Georgia Davies, Jemma Lowe and Tom Haffield have been joined by a further 16 swimmers, the majority of which will be making their Commonwealth debuts.

The full 23 squad of swimmers selected are as follows: Jazmin Carlin, 200, 400 and 800 freestyle; Georgia Davies, 50 and 100 backstroke, 4x100 medley team; Mari Davies, 4 x100 free team Thomas Haffield, 400 IM; Robert Holderness, 200 breaststroke, 4x100 medley team; Ieuan Lloyd, 200 IM; Calum Jarvis, 200 freestyle, 4x100 medley team; Daniel Jervis, 1500 freestyle; Ellena Jones, 800 freestyle; Tom Laxton, 100 butterfly, 4x100 medley team; Marco Loughran, 50 backstroke, 4x100 medley team; Jemma Lowe, 100 and 200 butterfly, 4x100 medley team; Hannah McCarthy, 4x100 free team, 4x100 medley team; Xavier Mohammad, 4x100 medley team; Sian Morgan, 4x100 free team, 4x100 medley team; Otto Putland, 100 freestyle, 4x100 medley team; Bethan Sloan, 4x100 medley team; Danielle Stirrat, 4x100 free team; Alys Thomas, 4x100 medley team; Jack Thomas, 200 freestyle S14; Chloe Tutton, 200 breaststroke, 4x100 medley team; Ryan West, 100 freestyle S9; Rachel Williams, 4x100 free team.

Chris Jenkins, chief executive of the Commonwealth Games Council for Wales, the organisation responsible for selecting and sending a team to compete for Wales, said: “We have such a strong history in swimming and it’s fantastic to see that some of our Delhi 2010 medallists will be competing for Wales again in Glasgow.

“The seven pre-selected swimmers aside it is a very young and relatively inexperienced team and we’re delighted to be able to give them such invaluable experience on the world stage and to see how they perform and deliver for Wales.”