Team Wales appeal against Sean McGoldrick decision fails

VICTORY: Michael Conlan celebrates his controversial win over Sean McGoldrick

VICTORY: Michael Conlan celebrates his controversial win over Sean McGoldrick

First published in Sport
Last updated
South Wales Argus: Photograph of the Author by

TEAM Wales have failed in an appeal against the decision that led to Sean McGoldrick's loss in the boxing semi-finals this afternoon.

The St Joseph’s fighter was beaten by Northern Ireland’s Michael Conlan in his semi-final at the SECC and failed to become the first boxer to retain a Commonwealth Games title.

The 22-year-old, who won gold in the 56kg division in Delhi four years ago, lost a unanimous decision after Conlan was unable to continue following an accidental clash of heads in the second round.

The fight was stopped on medical advice just 13 seconds before the end of the second and the Northern Irish man took the verdict 20-18 with all three judges.

Team Wales launched an official appeal for the TV footage to be reviewed because they believed the referee originially signaled that the cut was initially caused by a glove before a big clash of heads.

But Glasgow 2014 boxing officials have rejected that appeal and McGoldrick must settle for bronze.

"It was heartbreaking," said Wales national boxing coach Colin Jones after the defeat.

"We looked at the video evidence and we thought that the blood appeared a long time after there was supposedly a clash of heads. There was a clash of heads but the blood didn't appear until 25-30 seconds later."

"In that time, Sean had got in a couple of good blows that we thought had actually caused the cut."

"We think it's right that we look after our boxers," he added. "We put the appeal in - and it was quite a lengthy appeal. They came out on the side of Michael Conlan.

"We accept the final appeal but we've got to be seen to be doing the best by our boxers and that was what it was about."

“I just feel as if it is a little unfair to go out like that when he was coming into his best form.

“I did not see a clash of heads but there might have been one.

“I thought the ruling was if there was an accidental clash would not come into it and they would have awarded Sean the contest."

Conlan said the cut was caused by a clash of heads but Jones believes the Northern Irishman will not be passed fot to fight for gold tomorrow.

“It’s a very bad cut and I doubt very much whether he will box again in the final," he said.

“You are going to get the cut issue coming up all the time but I don’t think head guards are an issue.

“It’s very unfortunate and I have not had to deal with a cut with any of the Welsh boys at the moment.

“It’s the way that you are taught and some people dive in dangerously with their heads and with low movements you are going to have cuts."

Comments

Comments are closed on this article.

Send us your news, pictures and videos

Most read stories

Local Info

Enter your postcode, town or place name

About cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use.

I agree