JASON Tovey won’t be battling with Ceri Sweeney for the role of chief boo boy at Rodney Parade as he doesn’t feature in the Cardiff Blues squad for Saturday’s RaboDirect Pro12 encounter.

The fly-half looked set to be target for some good-natured Hazell Terrace heckling after changing regions in the summer.

However, the 23-year-old – the second highest points scorer in Dragons history behind Sweeney – will not be in the Blues squad when it is confirmed today.

Tovey is yet to make his Blues debut because of injury and illness and once again he is not part of their squad with 19-year-old Rhys Patchell set to get the nod at number 10.

At some stage the Wales Under-20s prospect will, however, have a rather large comfort blanket on his outside shoulder in the shape of Jamie Roberts.

The Wales and Lions centre is going to be on the bench after undergoing knee surgery in the summer.

Meanwhile, the Dragons are boosted by the return of flanker Dan Lydiate and centre/wing Adam Hughes.

Lydiate missed last weekend’s loss to Leinster after suffering a chest injury while Hughes will be on the bench after a three-week layoff following a hamstring injury suffered against London Irish in pre-season.

Winger Tonderai Chavhanga, whose wonder try won last season’s corresponding fixture, is a couple of weeks away from a return following a knee operation.

Coach Rob Appleyard said: “It’s great to see Tonderai at three-quarter pace and he’s running five seconds for the 40 metres – most backs would be pleased with that!

“We can’t wait to have him back but we want him back like a fully-fixed Ferrari and not chugging along.”

Scrum-half Wayne Evans is still struggling with a back injury while the Dragons will not take a risk with Rob Sidoli’s calf problem given their stretched resources in the second row.

Aaron Coundley is preferred to Nathan Williams after a fine cameo off the bench in Dublin.

Dragons squad: D Evans, T Prydie, W Harries, A Hughes, A Tuilagi, A Smith, P Leach, L Robling, Steffan Jones, J Evans, L Davies, P Price, A Coundley, Steve Jones, H Gustafson, D Way, N Buck, I Nimmo, A Jones, J Groves, L Evans (captain), H Stoddart, D Lydiate, T Faletau, T Brown.