CWMCARN Paragon’s top riders of the season, Richard Harris and Gareth Rees, teamed up for the final event in the Evening 10 Time Trial Series and, fittingly, they produced the fastest time of the night, 20mins 56secs, to take the victory.

Steve Powell and Andrew Stokoe placed 2nd with an excellent 21.57, followed by Andrew Butcher and Ed Malarczyk, 22.54.

In the solo rides, Darren Carpenter rode an excellent 21.53, giving him 1st overall, with Richard Hopkins, 22.46, Ross Porter, 23.36, Jon Vickery, 23.47, Andy Haines, 24.31, and Kevin Lavelle, 28.21, completing the top six places.

For Lavelle it was his first competitive race in more than six years due to work and family commitments, and he proved with his fine ride that he still has the speed in his legs. Although the Cwmcarn stars produced excellent rides, they were outshone by Ieuan Frowen, of Cardiff Jiff, who produced the ride of the night.

Young Ieuan travelled to Cwmcarn every week to contest the Series as a guest rider in what has been the wettest year in Wales on record. Each race he has ridden with courage, determination and a hugh amount of style as he pushed his diminutive physique through the cold, wind and rain against many of the top Welsh riders.

Improving his times with every race, his immense talent was justly rewarded in the final event when he produced a stunning ride of 23.37, a personal best time for the distance, which placed him 4th overall in the solo event.

Next week he riders the track at the famous Herne Hill, and for the remainder of the season he will contest the Winter Track League, at the National Velo-drome. A truly gifted and modest young rider, he has the class and drive to succeed in the highly competitive world of cycling, a name to remember for the future, Ieuan Frowen. The Port Talbot Wheelers 25 on the ultra fast R25/3L Hirwaun / Tonna / Glyneath course saw all 105 riders go under the hour.

Richard Harris was the leading Cwmcarn rider with a superb 51.51, but the quality of the field was so great that his ride placed him only 33rd, with Andrew Stokoe, 55.22, 84th.

Michael Hutchinson, In-Gear, who the previous week set a new 10 mile record, 17.45, won the event with a phenomenal 45.46. The slowest time was 58.51.

In the overflow event, Luke Cornish was the top Cwmcarn rider in 5th position with an excellent 53.31, followed by Jason Williams, 56.16, 20th, Ed Malarczyk, 56.54, 28th, Jon Vickery, 57.51, 43rd, and Jodie Lloyd, 1.6.22, 88th.

Sam Harrison, riding for 100% ME, won the Britsh Under-23 Time Trial Championship in Leicestershire. Harrison will contest the Under-23 title at the World Championships in Limburg, the Netherlands, on September 15-23.

Joseph Wilshire was in excellent form at the British Junior Track Championships, in Manchester.

In the points race, he won his heat and placed 6th overall in the final.

The final round of the Jiff Llandow Criteriums saw Robbie Westwood take 4th overall in the 45min, 2/3/4ths category, with R Harris, 10th.

Barrie McGregor placed 9th in the vets’ race.