England's monumental bid to create rugby history failed at the final hurdle as South Africa were crowned world champions following a tryless Stade de France final which finished 15-6.

The Springboks ended England's remarkable assault on world title glory by landing the Webb Ellis Trophy for a second time in 12 years.

Ex-Newport star Percy Montgomery booted the Springboks to glory, scoring four of their five kicks in a try-free night.

But England, 80-1 no-hopers after losing 36-0 to South Africa in the pool stages 36 days earlier, made them fight every inch of the way.