NEWPORT County AFC could face old rivals Cardiff City in the Capital One Cup first round after the seedings were announced this morning.

The Exiles are unseeded in the southern section of the first round draw, which takes place on Tuesday, June 17 at 10am.

But the Bluebirds, fresh from their relegation from the Premier League, are among the 18 seeded teams in the southern area.

That means that Justin Edinburgh’s men could be on collision course with Ole Gunnar Solskjaer’s side from the capital, rekindling a rivalry that last saw them play in the FAW Premier Cup in 2008.

County won that clash on penalties at Ninian Park but the last time they met in English competition was in April 1988 in the old division four where Cardiff won 4-0.

County, who dumped Championship club Brighton & Hove Albion out of the competition last year, could also face the Seagulls again or the likes of AFC Bournemouth, Birmingham City, Ipswich Town and Reading.

And there is also the possibility of a reunion with former players Lee Evans of Wolverhampton Wanderers, Conor Washington at Peterborough United or Sam Foley at Yeovil Town.

The full list of County’s possible opponents is: AFC Bournemouth, Birmingham City, Brentford, Brighton & Hove Albion, Bristol City, Cardiff City, Charlton Athletic, Ipswich Town, Leyton Orient, Millwall, Milton Keynes Dons, Peterborough United, Reading, Swindon Town, Walsall, Watford, Wolverhampton Wanderers and Yeovil Town.

County are among the unseeded teams in the south alongside: AFC Wimbledon, Cambridge United, Cheltenham Town, Colchester United, Coventry City, Crawley Town, Dagenham & Redbridge, Exeter City, Gillingham, Luton Town, Northampton Town, Oxford Untied, Plymouth Argyle, Portsmouth, Southend United, Stevenage and Wycombe Wanderers.

Live TV games have will be on Monday, August 11, at 7.45pm and Wednesday, August 13, at 7.45pm and these games will be selected directly following the draw.