FELLOW director Shaun Johnson has taken over as interim chair of the Newport County AFC Supporters Trust following the resignation of Malcolm Temple.

The club announced on Saturday that Temple had resigned from the board and from his role as the club’s co-chairman.

And Johnson will now step in to fill Temple’s shoes, while Gavin Foxall stays in position as operational chairman.

A club statement reads: “Shaun Johnson has agreed to become the interim chair of Newport County AFC Supporters Trust following Malcolm Temple’s resignation.

“Gavin Foxall remains as chairman of the club.”

South Wales Argus:

The Exiles announced the departure of Temple (above) on Saturday, shortly after the final whistle following the 3-1 defeat to Luton Town at Kenilworth Road.

Saturday’s statement read: "Newport County AFC wishes to inform its owners and shareholders that the current chairman of Newport County AFC Supporters’ Trust Malcolm Temple has submitted his resignation to the board which was accepted at last night’s board meeting.

"The resignation covers Malcolm’s role as both chairman of the Supporters Trust and as a director of Newport County AFC.

"The directors wish to take the opportunity to thank Malcolm for his time and work as chairman in recent years which has seen him help with the procurement of the club by the Trust."

At the last supporters’ forum, Trust members were notified of the intention to hold elections to fill the five vacant positions on the Supporters Trust Board.

This process will begin on October 26, which is the closing date for Trust membership for qualification to stand for election.

The election timetable will be announced on November 1 and November 22 is the closing date for candidate nomination forms and supporting statements to be submitted.

November 25 is the deadline for completion of edited versions of supporting statements and the list of candidates and details will be published the following day.

To be eligible to vote fans should become Trust members or renew their membership by November 22.

Voting will begin on December 23.

The count will take place on January 6 next year and the results will be announced the same day.

If the number of valid candidates is the same or less than the number of vacancies then they are to be elected unopposed.