Euro peace deal announced

THE two-year disagreement over the future of European club rugby has been resolved after an agreement over a new tournament structure was signed.

The 20-team Champions Cup will be the showpiece event of European Professional Club Rugby, the newly-established Switzerland-based organisers.

Beneath the premier tournament will be the European Rugby Challenge Cup and a new competition called the Qualifying Competition.

The Champions Cup will be made up of seven teams from the RaboDirect Pro12 – the top finishers from Wales, Ireland, Scotland and Italy plus three more on merit – and six from both the Top 14 and Aviva Premiership.

Next season’s 20th place will go to the winner of a playoff between the seventh-placed teams in England and France.

From 2015 there will be a four-team playoff for the final berth featuring two teams from the Pro12.

The winner of the Rugby Challenge Cup – which will feature the rest of the clubs from the Pro12, Top 14 and Aviva Premiership plus a pair of clubs from tier two nations – will be in the playoffs if they haven’t already secured a spot in the Champions Cup.


Comments are closed on this article.


Get Adobe Flash player
About cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use.

I agree