Teams for trial game: Dragons flanker Lewis Evans given Wales call-up

12:05pm Tuesday 27th May 2014

By Chris Kirwan

NEWPORT Gwent Dragons back row forward Lewis Evans has being given a late call-up for the Wales trial game.

The 26-year-old was initially left out of Warren Gatland’s squad for the pre-South Africa preparations but will now be on the bench for the probables against the possibles.

Evans was voted by Argus readers as their Dragon of the year after a superb season in which he started every game in the RaboDirect Pro12 and missed just one frontline fixture (against Bath in the Amlin Challenge Cup).

He impressed across the back row but was bizarrely left out by the national selectors despite the absence of Sam Warburton and Justin Tipuric through injury and the unavailability of Ryan Jones because of Bristol’s Championship commitments.

However, Evans has being given a late call-up and is one of four Dragons to feature.

Taulupe Faletau starts at number eight for the probables while Andrew Coombs lines up at blindside for the possibles with loosehead prop Owen Evans on the bench.

PROBABLES: Liam Williams (Scarlets), Alex Cuthbert (Cardiff Blues), Jonathan Davies (Scarlets), Jamie Roberts (Racing Metro), Jordan Williams (Scarlets), Dan Biggar (Ospreys), Mike Phillips (Racing Metro), Gethin Jenkins (Cardiff Blues), Ken Owens (Scarlets), Adam Jones (Ospreys), Alun Wyn Jones (Capt) (Ospreys), Luke Charteris (Perpignan), Josh Turnbull (Scarlets), Aaron Shingler (Scarlets), Taulupe Faletau (Newport Gwent Dragons).

Replacements: Scott Baldwin (Ospreys), Aaron Jarvis (Ospreys), Samson Lee (Scarlets), Lewis Evans (Newport Gwent Dragons), Josh Navidi (Cardiff Blues), Rhodri Williams (Scarlets), Sam Davies (Ospreys), Dafydd Hewitt (Cardiff Blues).

POSSIBLES: Dan Fish (Cardiff Blues), Kristian Phillips (Scarlets), Cory Allen (Cardiff Blues), Steven Shingler (Scarlets), Harry Robinson (Cardiff Blues), James Hook (Perpignan), Gareth Davies (Scarlets), Rob Evans (Scarlets), Matthew Rees (Capt) (Cardiff Blues), Rhodri Jones (Scarlets), Jake Ball (Scarlets), Ian Evans (Ospreys), Andrew Coombs (Newport Gwent Dragons), Ellis Jenkins (Cardiff Blues), Dan Baker (Ospreys).

Replacements: Kristian Dacey (Cardiff Blues), Owen Evans (Newport Gwent Dragons), Scott Andrews (Cardiff Blues), Macauley Cook (Cardiff Blues), James Davies (Scarlets), Lloyd Williams (Cardiff Blues), Matthew Morgan (Ospreys), Jonathan Spratt (Ospreys).


© Copyright 2001-2017 Newsquest Media Group

South Wales Argus: site_logo

Click 2 Find Business Directory