A MAGNIFICENT seven Dragons have made the Wales squad for next month’s Women’s Rugby World Cup in Ireland.

Forwards Cerys Hale, Rebecca Rowe and Megan York are included alongside backs Rebecca De Filippo, Sian Moore, Gemma Rowland and Elinor Snowsill.

Carys Phillips will continue to lead from the front as captain, with Wales facing New Zealand, Canada and Hong Kong in the group of death.

Wales begin their campaign on the first day of competition when they take on the All Blacks at UCD Billings Park.

They return to the same venue four days later to play third seeds Canada and then go up against Hong Kong at UCD Bowl 96 hours after that.

“There’s a real enthusiasm amongst the team about facing two of the top nations in the game, because you play international rugby in order to compete against the best,” said head coach Rowland Phillips.

Snowsill, Elen Evans, Sioned Harries, Shona Powell-Hughes and Rachel Taylor are set to feature in their third World Cup.

In contrast, 17-year-old back-rower Lleucu George could be in line to gain her first full cap for Wales.

Warm-up matches against Japan, Spain and England have given Wales confidence heading into the biggest edition of the tournament to date.

“The improvement in performance over those three fixtures is a reflection of the hard work that the players have put in to improve key areas of our game,” added Phillips.

“Having experience amongst the squad is valuable, but more important is the fact that our selections are based on merit.”

The World Cup runs from August 9-26.

Wales Women’s squad for the 2017 Women’s Rugby World Cup:

Forwards – Alisha Butchers (Scarlets), Mel Clay (Ospreys), Amy Evans (Ospreys), Lleucu George (Scarlets), Cerys Hale (Dragons), Sioned Harries (Scarlets), Morfudd Ifans (Scarlets), Kelsey Jones (Ospreys), Siwan Lillicrap (Ospreys), Carys Phillips (captain, Ospreys), Shona Powell-Hughes (Ospreys), Gwenllian Pyrs (Scarlets), Rebecca Rowe (Dragons), Rachel Taylor (Scarlets), Caryl Thomas (Scarlets), Megan York (Dragons).

Backs – Keira Bevan (Ospreys), Elen Evans (Scarlets), Jodie Evans (Scarlets), Rebecca De Filippo (Dragons), Dyddgu Hywel (Scarlets), Hannah Jones (Scarlets), Jasmine Joyce (Scarlets), Sian Moore (Dragons), Jess Kavanagh-Williams (Scarlets), Gemma Rowland (Dragons), Elinor Snowsill (Dragons), Robyn Wilkins (Ospreys).

Wales Women’s Pool A fixtures: New Zealand v Wales, Wednesday, August 9 (2.45pm); Canada v Wales, Sunday, August 13 (5pm); Wales v Hong Kong, Thursday, August 17 (5.15pm).