A NEWPORT band was named best acoustic act at a national music awards ceremony in London.

The three-piece band ‘Nothing North of Alaska’ not only won an award but also performed their debut single Memphis Time at this year’s Download Music Awards 2012.

Greg Ryan, 23, Tim Miles, 23 and Rosie Bell are also celebrating the success of Memphis Time reaching number two on the International Independent Charts a week after its release.

The awards were launched in 2009 to recognise independent artists, DJs and bands of all genres.

The band, who describe their sound as a blend of folk and country, were also nominated for best newcomer and best single. Mr Ryan, of Rogerstone, who sings and plays guitar said: “We were really shocked. We had no expectations of winning and were up against a strong category.”

Mr Ryan also composes film scores at his studio in Rogerstone.