NOMINATIONS are open for the first ever South Wales Argus Health and Care Awards.

The awards have been launched to celebrate inspirational and dedicated workers in the health and care industry.

With 15 categories to choose from, the awards aim to reflect the range of work done by those working within these sectors and organisations providing services. Launching the awards, South Wales Argus editor Nicole Garnon said: “We are delighted to launch the inaugural Health and Care Awards.

“With these awards we aim to recognise the hard work and dedication of health care professionals and those who work in the care industry. This is an area where the tireless work of individuals isn’t always highlighted. We plan to celebrate and promoted the achievements of people who work in these fields.

“I am looking forward to finding out more about the amazing done work by individuals and organisations in our region.”

The headline sponsor of the event is St Joseph’s Hospital, in Newport.

Fiona Davies, the business development manager at St Joseph’s Hospital, said: “It’s really exciting for us to be a part of establishing these awards in their inaugural year. Individuals working in the Health and Care professions work incredibly hard to provide vital services and we’re proud to be sponsoring an award that will recognise that hard work and dedication.”

Hussain Bayoomi, the managing director of the South Wales Argus, added: “I am delighted to launch the first ever South Wales Argus Health And Care Awards. We are looking forward to some outstanding entries from across the area, as we recognise individuals and teams from the across the whole health spectrum.We hope to have nominations from the general public, public and private organisations and health sector professionals. We will then be celebrating the success of our finalists at the awards event.”

From today, we are seeking nominations from health care professionals and members of the public for a range of awards that aim to recognise the full spectrum of services offered in these industries.

A panel of judges will be formed to decide the winners in September and they will be revealed at a special presentation event at Chepstow Racecourse in October.

Health care professionals can nominate staff and organisations in award categories, and members of the public can nominate in the GP Practice of the Year award category and the Health Care Professional of the Year category.

The 15 award categories are:

  • Innovative Care in the Care Home Sector
  • GP Practice of the Year
  • Health Care Professional of the Year
  • Early Years Award
  • Healthy Neighbourhood Award
  • Best Patient and Public Involvement Award
  • Volunteer of the Year
  • Third Sector or Community Team of the Year
  • Mental Health Team of the Year
  • Hospital Team of the Year
  • Health Campaign of the Year
  • Best Innovation Award
  • Research Impact Award
  • Together we Achieve Award
  • Outstanding Achievement Award

To nominate, or find out more about the awards, visit

South Wales Argus: