PLANS to cut the number of Parliamentary constituencies in Wales from 40 to 29, including bringing parts of Newport West into Caerphilly and scrapping Islwyn altogether, have been slammed by the area's MPs.

In September last year the Boundary Commission for Wales has released proposals as part of a plan to cut the overall number of MPs in the UK by 50 to 600. And, following a consultation and examination of feedback, the organisation released revised proposals today, Tuesday.

Although some areas have been changed, the plans for the seven Gwent constituencies remain unchanged.

If the plans go ahead Graig and Rogerstone, currently in Newport West, will be merged into Caerphilly, along with the Abercarn, Crosskeys, Maesycwmmer, Pontllanfraith, Risca East, Risca West and Ynysddu areas of Islwyn, which will be scrapped altogether.

Aber Valley, Bedwas, Trethomas and Machen, Llanbradach, Morgan Jones, Penyrheol, St James and St Martins will remain within Caerphilly, while Bargoed, Gilfach, Hengoed, Nelson, St Cattwg and Ystrad Mynach will be merged with Merthyr Tydfil and Rhymney, which will also incorporate Aberbargoed, currently in Islwyn.

Meanwhile Islwyn will be scrapped altogether, with Argoed, Blackwood, Cefn Forest, Crumlin, Newbridge, Pengam and Penmaen being merged into Blaenau Gwent. All areas currently in Blaenau Gwent will remain within the constituency.

Caerphilly MP Wayne David slammed the plans as " the worst kind of political gerrymandering".

"The Labour Party will lose the most seats because Wales is a Labour stronghold," he said.

"But it is unlikely that this boundary review will be implemented because it will hit the Democratic Unionist Party and they are the government's partners."

And Chris Evans, whose Islwyn seat could be abolished altogether, said the plans would "break strong local ties and make no geographical sense whatsoever".

"The central and important town of Blackwood becomes an add-on to Blaenau Gwent even though the areas have totally different socio-economic profiles," he said.

"The commission has failed to acknowledge this and has instead just lumped them together to make up the numbers.

"In doing so they have totally disregarded the views of my constituents."

He added he believed the way the consultation had been handed was "deeply flawed".

"The future of democratic representation in Wales is at stake and we have to get this right," he said.

Meanwhile Alway, Beechwood, Liswerry, Ringland, St Julians and Victoria, currently in Newport East, will be merged with the Newport West wards of Allt-yr-yn, Bettws, Gaer, Malpas, Marshfield, Pill, Shaftsbury, Stow Hill and Tredegar Park, to create a single Newport constituency.

The remainder of Newport East, encompassing Langstone, Llanwern, Caldicot Castle, Dewstow, Green Lane, Mill, Rogiet, Severn, The Elms and West End will join Monmouth, which will be renamed Monmouthshire to reflect the fact the constituency will largely follow county boundaries.

Meanwhile all areas currently in Torfaen will remain within the constituency, while Caerleon, currently in Newport East, and the Croesyceiliog North and South wards, as well as Llanyrafon North and South, currently in Monmouth, will also be merged into it.

A second consultation has been launched into the revised proposals, and will run until Monday, December 11. To take part visit or call 02920 464 819.

Results of the second consultation will be published in September next year and will not take effect until 2021 at the earliest.