FOLLOWING the success of last year’s inaugural event were are delighted to announce the launch of our 2018 school awards.

Now under the title of South Wales Argus Schools & Education Awards 2018, the awards are once again being held in partnership with the University of South Wales.

We aim to recognise the extraordinary commitment and dedication that so many staff bring to education every day, be they teachers, further education lecturers, head teachers, teaching assistants or university lecturers.

We want to reward the innovation and creativity that goes into teaching every day in our schools and education establishments across Gwent and recognise the value of the schools themselves.

Hussain Bayoomi, managing director of the South Wales Argus, said: "The aim of the awards is simple; to honour the achievements by everyone from head teachers to teacher, lecturers and teaching assistants in our primary, secondary schools, colleges and the university in South Wales.

"We are inviting readers, schools, parents, local education authorities or anyone with an interest in education to nominate their teachers, teaching assistants, tutors, and mentors for the chance to win an award.

"We also want to see entries about those school and inspirational staff who go the extra mile, those that who break down barriers and those whose impact is felt in the community around them.”

This year there are 15 award categories in the awards. They are: Head Teacher of the Year, Digital Innovation of the Year, Primary Teacher of the Year, Above and Beyond Award, Secondary Teacher of the Year, Early Years Education Award, FE Lecturer of the Year, Primary School of the Year - sponsored by Roberts and Co, Teaching Assistant of the Year, Secondary School of the Year, New Teacher of the Year, Best Welsh Language Initiative - sponsored by St Johns College, Lifetime Achievement Award, School of the Year - sponsored by University of South Wales, and Welsh Medium Teacher of the Year.

The categories are open to people working within the Gwent area of Monmouthshire, Torfaen, Blaenau Gwent, Newport and Caerphilly.

You can send nominations via our website until 5pm, January 12 at

For more information contact