SCHOOLS from across the region have been nominated for South Wales Argus Schools and Education Awards.

This year we are getting more nominations that ever for schools doing amazing work across Gwent.

Coed Eva Primary in Cwmbran won the Primary School of the Year title in the 2017 awards, while the Secondary School of the Year Award went to Newport's John Frost School.

If you know a school that deserves the title in 2018 then you can nominate them now on our website.

The winner of each category will then go forward for the School of the Year title.

The awards, which are being held in partnership with the University of South Wales, will honour the work being done in the education sector.

Broadcaster Roy Noble will host the awards event which will take place on March 8 at Chepstow Racecourse.

Anyone can send in a nomination for free, just fill in the form on our website: educationawards.

The 15 award categories are open to people working within the Gwent area of Monmouthshire, Torfaen, Blaenau Gwent, Newport and Caerphilly.

The deadline for nominations is 5pm, January 12.