HERE is the list of winners in the South Wales Argus Schools and Education Awards.

There were 15 award categories which aim to recognise the extraordinary commitment and dedication that so many staff bring to the education sector every day.

And here is the list of winners for each of the categories:

  •   Best Welsh Language Initiative is Ysgol Gymraeg Y Fenni
  • Digital Innovation of the Year Award - Luke Mansfield from St Julian's Primary School
  • Above and Beyond Award - Rachel Rudge from High Cross Primary School.
  • Welsh Teacher of the Year Award - Gareth Watkins from Ysgol Bryn Onnen
  • FE Lecturer of the Year Award - Gareth Pugh from Coleg Gwent, Crosskeys Campus.
  • Secondary Teacher of the Year Award - Matthew Hunt from King Henry VIII School
  • Primary Teacher of the Year Award - Sarah Jarman from Cwmffrwdoer Primary School in Pontnewynydd
  • Teaching Assistant of the Year Award - Lisa Hillman from Deighton Primary School
  • New Teacher of the Year Award - Georgina Powell from Milton Primary School in Newport
  • Lifetime Achievement Award - Christine Arnold from St Julian's Primary School
  • Head Teacher of the Year Award - Kerry Waters from Pontnewydd Primary School, Cwmbran
  • Early Years Education Award - The Communication Class at Kimberley Nursery School
  • Secondary School of the Year - St Joseph's RC High School
  • Primary School of the Year Award - Griffithstown Primary School