THE FINALISTS for South Wales Argus Health and Care Awards 2018 have been announced.

Last week, eleven judges met at the South Wales Argus’ office to discuss the incredible work of individuals and organisations in the health and care sector, nominated in one of twelve categories.

This year’s judges are: Helen Howson (Bevan Commission), Des James (Freemasons of Monmouth), Denise Llewellyn (Royal College of Nursing in Wales), Andy Evans (St Joseph’s Hospital), Laura Lloyd-Lewis (Coleg Gwent), James Tovey (Tovey Bros. Funeral Directors), Karen Welch (Western Power Distribution), Laura Harvey (Monmouthshire Building Society), Matt Hickman (from The Rutherford Cancer Centres, Proton Partners International), and Cathy Parsons and Hussain Bayoomi (South Wales Argus).

Judges were excluded from categories that could mean a conflict of interest, and the finalists are in no particular order.

The finalists for ‘Outstanding Achievement Award’, jointly sponsored by headline sponsors, Rutherford Cancer Centres and St Joseph’s Hospital, are: Russell Ham (Specsavers), Professor Keir Lewis, and Michael Cashman (Welsh Ambulance Service).

The finalists for the ‘Together We Achieve’, sponsored by Monmouthshire Building Society, are: Reflect and CASCADE, Digital Communities Wales, and Aneurin Bevan University Health Board.

The finalists for ‘GP Practice of the Year’, sponsored by Tovey Bros Funeral Directors, are: Underwood Health Centre, St David’s Clinic and Wellspring Medical Centre.

The finalists for ‘Innovative Care in the Care Home Sector’, award, sponsored by Royal College of Nursing, are: Maria Willis, A1 Care Services Ltd and Penpergwm House.

The finalists for ‘Research Impact Award’, sponsored by the Bevan Commission, are: Dr Inder Singh, and The Organ Donation Study Research Team.

The finalists for ‘Team of the Year’, sponsored by Coleg Gwent, are: Cervical Screening Wales, the Vascular Podiatry Multidisciplinty Multidisciplinary Team from Royal Gwent Hospital, and Kelly Price and her team at Q Care.

The finalists for ‘Doctor of the Year’, sponsored by St John’s College, are: Dr Mala Bradbury (Glan Rhyd Surgery), Dr Tim Rogerson (Welsh Air Ambulance and Royal Gwent Hospital), and Dr Joseph Lavric (Beechwood Surgery).

The finalists for ‘Volunteer of the Year’, sponsored by Western Power Distribution, are: Jackie Lewis and Jasmine Crockett Paffey.

The finalists for ‘3rd Sector or Community Team of the Year’, which is awaiting sponsorship, are: Gwent Defibbers, the Day Hospice team (St David’s Hospice Care), and The Attic Project.

The finalists for ‘Pharmacy of the Year’, which is awaiting sponsorship, are: New Inn Pharmacy, Gaer Pharmacy Pearns, and Martin Davies Chemists Ltd.

The finalists for ‘Special Recognition Nursing Award’, which is awaiting sponsorship, are: Sue Woods (Royal Gwent Hospital’s neonatal unit), Caroline Vaughan (County Hospital,) and Rebecca Spicer-Thomas from Dewi Sant Hospital.

The finalists for ‘Best Innovation Award’, sponsored by the Freemasons of Monmouth, and all the winners will be announced at a special ceremony at Chepstow Racecourse, on October 18.

South Wales Argus: