FIVE Dragons will make their debuts as starters in the United Rugby Championship opener against the Ospreys at Rodney Parade.

Dean Ryan has selected wing Jordan Olowofela, scrum-half Lewis Jones, loosehead Aki Seiuli, tighthead Mesake Doge and lock Will Rowlands in his XV for Sunday's clash in Newport (kick-off 2pm).

Dynamic back rower Ollie Griffiths gets the nod at openside ahead of Taine Basham alongside captain Ross Moriarty and Aaron Wainwright while hooker Ellis Shipp edges out former Wales and Lions international Richard Hibbard.

Six of the starting pack are internationals while Seiuli is uncapped but was a member of the Samoa squad this summer.

The kicking of Josh Lewis, a fly-half by trade, earns a start at full-back while Jack Dixon is selected at outside centre.

Director of rugby Ryan will be looking for his team to finish strongly with Jamie Roberts joining Hibbard and Basham on the bench.

Rhodri Williams is fit to back up on-loan Cardiff scrum-half Jones after summer shoulder surgery while Greg Bateman is also a replacement despite not playing in pre-season because of a back spasm.

Fly-half Gareth Anscombe makes his long awaited debut for the Ospreys after his serious knee injury while Lions lock Adam Beard makes a rapid return as a replacement.

The visitors are captained by scrum-half Rhys Webb and give a start to Tomas Francis, the Wales tighthead who arrived from Exeter this summer.

Dragons: J Lewis; J Holmes, J Dixon, A Owen, J Olowofela; S Davies, L Jones; A Seiuli, E Shipp, M Doge, W Rowlands, B Carter, R Moriarty (captain), O Griffiths, A Wainwright.

Replacements: R Hibbard, G Bateman, C Coleman, J Maksymiw, T Basham, R Williams, J Roberts, I Davies.

Ospreys: D Evans; M Protheroe, M Collins, O Watkin, L Morgan; G Anscombe, R Webb (captain); N Smith, S Parry, T Francis, B Davies, R Davies, W Griffiths, J Morgan, M Morris.
Replacements: E Taione, R Jones, T Botha, A Beard, E Roots, R Morgan-Williams, J Thomas, T Thomas-Wheeler.