WALES have named six uncapped players in their squad for the three-match autumn series.

The Welsh women take on Japan, South Africa and Canada at Cardiff Arms Park next month and will be captained once again by influential back row forward Siwan Lillicrap.

She is joined in the squad by uncapped forwards Kat Evans (Saracens), Liliana Podpadec (Llandaff North) and Madi Johns (Porth Harlequins) and backs Jade Mullen (Harlequins), Leanne Burnell (Pontyclun Falcons) and Flo Williams (Wasps).

Evans and Mullen were part of the Wales Sevens Rugby Europe squad in the summer while Williams was an uncapped member of last season's Six Nations squad.

Geraint Lewis and Ioan Cunningham are jointly leading the interim coaching team which also includes Richard Whiffin as attack coach and World Rugby coaching intern Sophie Spence.

Forwards coach Lewis said, "We feel we have a good mix of new and experienced players which will provide competition within the squad which is always healthy in international sport in order to improve performances and results.

"Many Welsh players have been performing well for their Allianz Premier 15s clubs and it's also been good to see women's club rugby return following 18 months of stoppages in Wales.

"Club performances and a productive senior talent ID Day have provided the opportunity for players to force their way into this squad for the forthcoming campaign which will test them at a higher level.

"As is always the case in international rugby, there were some difficult calls with some players missing out but many of those individuals have already shown a determination to work hard for another chance to wear the jersey. There's a lot to play for in the next year and this is the start of that journey."

Wales get the series under way against Japan on Sunday, November 7 (kick-off 5pm), entertain South Africa on Saturday, November 13 (kick-off 12.15pm) and then host Canada on Sunday, November 21 (kick-off 5pm).

Wales squad

Forwards: Siwan Lillicrap (captain), Alisha Butchers, Alex Callender, Bethan Dainton, Kat Evans, Cerys Hale, Cara Hope, Gwen Crabb, Abbie Fleming, Georgia Evans, Natalia John, Madi Johns, Manon Johnes, Molly Kelly, Bethan Lewis, Robyn Lock, Liliana Podpadec, Gwenllian Pyrs, Donna Rose, Caryl Thomas.

Backs: Keira Bevan, Leanne Burnell, Hannah Jones, Jasmine Joyce, Jess Kavanagh, Courtney Keight, Kerin Lake, Caitlin Lewis, Ffion Lewis, Jade Mullen, Lisa Neumann, Elinor Snowsill, Niamh Terry, Flo Williams, Megan Webb, Robyn Wilkins.