SOUTH Africa have named a formidable side in their bid to end a four-Test losing streak in Cardiff against Wales.

The world champions have made four changes to the matchday squad that beat New Zealand 31-29 last month.

Damian Willemse comes in for Willie le Roux at full-back and centre Jesse Kriel gets the nod to replace S'busio Nkosi on the wing while Faf de Klerk’s injury leads to Herschel Jantjies starting at scrum-half.

His promotion to the XV means that Cobus Reinach will be among the replacements at Principality Stadium.

The Springboks boast their usual power up front with flanker Siya Kolisi leading the charge backed up by Duane Vermeulen, Eben Etzebeth, Lood de Jager and Trevor Nyakane.

There will be no drop-off with the South African bench featuring Malcolm Marx, Stephen Kitschoff, Vincent Koch and Jasper Wiese.

The Boks have lost their last four games against Wales in Cardiff since their 2013 triumph in the capital and will attempt to change the record through their typically confrontational approach.

“Wales are a tough side to beat and our track record over here in the last few years is evidence of that,” said head coach Jacques Nienaber.

“We also edged them in the Rugby World Cup semi-final, so we know that this is going to be a hard grind of a Test."

Wales head into the game on the back of a seven-try, 54-16 defeat to New Zealand.

“They may have lost against the All Blacks lbut this result was in the absence of a number of key players, so this week will be a completely different proposition," said Nienaber.

“They have a formidable pack of forwards and some equally experienced and high-calibre backline players, several of whom played for the British & Irish Lions, and to add to this they will play in cool and possibly wet conditions that they are well suited to, so we know what we are in for.

“That said, we had a good training camp in France last week and some of the overseas-based players were in action for their clubs, so the player are back in the swing of things focused and excited to get back on the field.”

South Africa: Damian Willemse; Jesse Kriel, Lukhanyo Am, Damian de Allende, Makazole Mapimpi; Handre Pollard, Herschel Jantjies; Ox Nche, Bongi Mbonambi, Trevor Nyakane, Eben Etzebeth, Lood De Jager, Siya Kolisi (capt), Kwagga Smith, Duane Vermeulen.

Replacements: Malcolm Marx, Steven Kitshoff, Vincent Koch, Franco Mostert, Jasper Wiese, Cobus Reinach, Elton Jantjies, Frans Steyn.