A CAERPHILLY borough football club has been given a national award for its work in the community during the Covid-19 pandemic.

Aber Valley FC in Abertridwr were named Community Club of the Year at the 2021 FAW and McDonald’s Grassroots Football Awards.

The awards were held on Saturday, November 13, at the Cardiff City Stadium and the club were given the award by former Welsh international Robert Earnshaw ahead of Wales’ World Cup qualifier against Belarus.

At half-time during the game, they joined the other award winners on the pitch to celebrate their accomplishments.

Aber Valley FC were given the award for their work during the Covid-19 pandemic where they stepped in to help the community by setting up a food bank to give out donations to those in need. Each week the players went through the donation and delivered them to those that needed the support.

It was vital in a community that had seen job losses and financial impact of the pandemic.


Robert Earnshaw, McDonald’s fun football ambassador, said: “It’s been a really tough year for the entire grassroots football community in Wales. That’s why I’m so proud to be here in Cardiff to honour these incredible winners.

“The volunteers from Aber Valley FC personify what it means to be a grassroots hero and to go above and beyond for your community. The awards are a special occasion and a chance to show how grateful we are to the hours of dedication volunteers put in to make football what it is.”

David Balcombe, local McDonald’s franchisee and supporter of grassroots football in Caerphilly, said: “We’re incredibly proud to have a national Grassroots Award winner from Caerphilly. The work Aber Valley FC have done to lead their community through the hardest points of the pandemic is truly commendable and inspiring.

“They show the power football has to be a force for good. It’s always an honour to be involved with the awards and celebrate the volunteers who are the heart and soul of the grassroots game.”

The FAW and McDonald’s Grassroots Football Awards recognise and celebrate volunteers who dedicate countless hours to inspire those in the grassroots football community.

It is the 14th year the awards have been held.