FOUR Labour councillors have resigned from the party, saying they are disgusted no-one from Islwyn was short-listed to contest the seat vacated by Don Touhig.

Dave Rees and Phyllis Griffiths, who represent Risca West, Pengam's Jonathan Wilson and Ynysddu member Jan Jones have written to Gordon Brown outlining their reasons for leaving the party.

Cllr Rees has vowed to fight the seat as an Independent in May's general election.

The seven-person shortlist is Tamsin Dunwoody, Christopher Evans, Dan Jarvis, Melanie Smallman, Nick Thomas-Symonds, Angela Wilkins and Nathan Yeowell.

For the full story, see tomorrow’s Argus.