WALES Women's head coach Rhys Edwards has named six uncapped players in an exciting squad for the 2014 Six Nations championship.

Blues second row Jade Newman is the only new face among the forwards while Edwards has turned to youth in the backline with teenagers Hannah Jones (Ospreys), Eli Norkett (Ospreys) and Robyn Wilkins (Blues) being handed their big chance alongside speedsters Ffion Bowen (Ospreys) and Laurie Harries (Blues).

There is also a welcome return for Scarlets full back Mared Evans who missed last season due to injury.

Megan York, Caryl Thomas, Sian Williams, Rachel Taylor, Amy Day, Elinor Snowsill and Rebecca de Fillippo are representing the Dragons.

"We've chosen the squad on form at both club and regional level,” explained Edwards. "It might be considered that we are gambling with two or three of them but all those who have been selected are picked on merit because of their form, attitude and commitment,” he added.

Jones and Norkett are just 17 while Wilkins is only a year older but Edwards has no qualms about throwing them in at the deep end.

"It's all about giving some of the promising players experience at the top level. As an example Robyn is the most promising player in her age group and she can play at either 10 or 12 so that gives us extra options. We want to put her in a big game environment during the Six Nations as we also look ahead to the World Cup as well.”

The recently completed Women's Regional Championship has also unearthed some hidden gems according to Edwards.

"We didn't even know Ffion Bowen three weeks ago but she has proved in a relatively short space of time she can finish – and finish well on the wing. She is a young and exciting prospect and a player we hope to nurture through the Six Nations,” he said.

Wales Women's Six Nations Squad 2014: Forwards - Megan York (Blaenau/Gwent Dragons), Caryl Thomas (Bath Ladies/Dragons), Catrin Edwards (Bristol Ladies/Scarlets), Jenny Davies (Waterloo/Blues), Lowri Harries (Neath Athletic/Scarlets), Carys Phillips (Neath Athletic/Ospreys), Nia Davies (Cardiff Met/Blues), Jade Newman (Llandaff North/Blues), Catrina Nicholas (Llandaff North/Blues), Sian Williams (Worcester/Dragons), Sioned Harries (Llandaff North/Scarlets), Rachel Taylor (Bristol Ladies/Dragons), Shona Powell-Hughes (Neath Athletic/Ospreys); backs - Sian Moore (Bristol Ladies/Ospreys), Amy Day (Llandaff North/Dragons), Laura Prosser (Pontyclun/Blues), Elinor Snowsill (Bristol Ladies/Dragons), Hannah Jones (Neath Athletic/Ospreys), Robyn Wilkins (Llandaff North/Blues), Rebecca de Fillippo (Bristol Ladies/Dragons), Elen Evans (Waterloo/Scarlets), Philippa Tuttiett (Llandaff North/Blues), Elli Norkett (Neath Athletic/Ospreys), Ffion Bowen (Maesteg Celtic/Ospreys), Laurie Harries (Llandaff North/Blues), Dyddgu Hywel (Bristol Ladies/Scarlets), Mared Evans (Llandaff North/Scarlets)