ABERGAVENNY ace Becky James can pack her bags for Rio after securing a place in Team GB’s cycling squad for this year’s Olympic Games.

James, 24, a former sprint and keirin world champion, was named as one of 26 riders who will represent Great Britain across road, track and BMX disciplines in Brazil.

Wales is also represented by double Olympic champion Geraint Thomas, Elinor Barker, Ciara Horne and Owain Doull.

Olympic gold medallists Laura Trott and Joanna Rowsell Shand head up the women’s track team alongside James, Barker, Katie Archibald, Katy Marchant and Horne.

“I’m really honoured to have been selected for my first Olympic Games, it’s something I’ve been dreaming of since I first started cycling,” said James.

“I’ve had a hard fight back from injury over the past year or so but thanks to an amazing support team at British Cycling I’m able to put all that behind me and focus on achieving my career goals.”

In March, James won a bronze medal at the UCI Track Cycling World Championships after a two-year absence from the sport through injury.

British Cycling programmes director Andy Harrison added: “I am pleased to announce such a strong squad of riders who will represent Team GB in Rio this summer.

“Our team has proven to be the leading nation for cycling in the past two Olympic cycles and our aim is to continue that momentum and be a sports team that Britain can be proud of.

“We’ve seen some good results across the disciplines this season and I’ve every confidence we can step it up once more for the Rio 2016 Olympic Games.”

Seven-time Olympic medallist Sir Bradley Wiggins returns to the track after claiming time trial gold at London 2012 and he will be joined by former world champion and 26-time Tour de France stage winner Mark Cavendish.

Four more Olympic medallists are included for the men with Jason Kenny, Ed Clancy, Phillip Hindes and Steven Burke returning, while Doull and Callum Skinner are set to make their first Olympic appearances.

London 2012 finalist Liam Phillips and first-time Olympian Kyle Evans are Britain’s two BMX riders in the team.

On the road, two-time Tour de France king and Olympic time trial bronze medallist Chris Froome will be supported by Thomas and Pete Kennaugh, as well as Adam Yates and Ian Stannard.

World champion Lizzie Armitstead leads the women’s road squad with Beijing 2008 time trial silver medallist Emma Pooley and first-time Olympian Nikki Harris also included.

Men’s track: Jason Kenny, Phillip Hindes, Callum Skinner, Bradley Wiggins, Mark Cavendish, Owain Doull, Steven Burke, Ed Clancy.

Women’s track: Becky James, Katy Marchant, Laura Trott, Katie Archibald, Joanna Rowsell Shand, Elinor Barker, Ciara Horne.

Men’s road: Geraint Thomas, Chris Froome, Adam Yates, Peter Kennaugh, Ian Stannard.

Women’s road: Lizzie Armitstead, Emma Pooley, Nikki Harris.

Men’s BMX: Liam Phillips, Kyle Evans.