ABERGAVENNY’S Becky James leads the list of Gwent nominees for the 2016 Welsh Cycling Awards.

James, who won two silver medals at the Olympic Games in Rio last month, is shortlisted for the Elite Performance of the Year award alongside Newport-based Ciara Horne and Cardiff quartet Elinor Barker,

Geraint Thomas, Luke Rowe and Owain Doull.

Abergavenny Road Club is also nominated for the Go-Ride Club of the Year award and Paul Crapper is up for Coach of the Year, while Newport’s Alison Durston is shortlisted for Volunteer of the Year.

In 2016, Welsh Cycling has seen the number of clubs in Wales rise to 166, with more than 20 of these having a youth-focus and are Go-Ride registered. In addition there are now more than 5,700 British Cycling members in Wales, the highest ever.

On the world stage, Wales has shone. Thomas and Rowe helped Chris Froome to his third Tour de France title with Team Sky.

And in Rio, James, Barker and Doull put in the performance of their lives to bring back four Olympic medals.

Manon Carpenter secured second overall in the Downhill MTB World Cup Series, and Scott Davies won his third consecutive under-23 National Time Trial Championship.

Anne Adams-King, chief executive officer at Welsh Cycling said: “Wales has had a phenomenal year, both here in Wales and on the world stage.

“The cycling community has continued to grow, and I am proud of each and every person who was nominated, and has made the shortlist.

“But I know there are many more people in the cycling community in Wales, working hard and dedicating their time to inspire Wales to cycle.

“I wish to thank all our clubs, volunteers, coaches and members for supporting cycling in Wales, and I hope you join us in celebrating another great year for Welsh Cycling.”

The winners will be announced in a ceremony at the Mercure Holland House Hotel and Spa in Cardiff on Saturday, October 29.

Tickets for the evening, which will include a welcome drinks reception, three course dinner, and the awards presentation, are priced at £40 for Welsh Cycling members.

Contact Jordan Jefferies or Margaret Thomas for more information on ticket purchases on 01633 274691.