ABERGAVENNY Road Club was a double winner at the 2016 Welsh Cycling Awards held in Cardiff on Saturday.

Becky James received the Elite Performance of the Year award, sponsored by SD Sealants, following her double Olympic silver medal success in Rio this summer.

Her father David James collected the award during the ceremony.

And the Coach of the Year title was awarded to Paul Llewellyn Crapper.

He has been instrumental in developing and leading women-only coaching sessions in Abergavenny, in addition to regular adult beginner sessions.

Crapper also gives his time to coach young riders every Saturday morning, giving all his energy to cycling.

The ceremony celebrated the successes of Welsh cyclists on the world stage, and the achievements and dedication of volunteers, clubs and coaches at home in Wales.

Anne Adams-King, chief executive officer at Welsh Cycling, said: “We have had a phenomenal year at Welsh Cycling.

“We had six Welsh riders attend the Rio 2016 Olympic and Paralympic Games, bringing back four medals. But it’s back here in Wales we have seen an impact.

“We have more than 165 cycling clubs, delivering opportunities for people of all ages and abilities to take part in cycling.

“We are privileged in Wales to have such a vibrant group of people supporting cycling, from ride leaders to coaches, race organiser to marshals.

“I thank each and every volunteer for helping to inspire Wales to cycle.”

To find out more about getting involved in cycling as a coach, volunteer, coach or cyclist get in touch at welshcycling.co.uk.

The winners were: Volunteer of the Year sponsored by Berry Smith Lawyers – Nia Richards (Ceredigion), Esther Griffiths (Gwynedd) and Vicky Hinstridge (Wrexham); Go Ride Club of the Year – Gower Riders (Swansea); Club Cyclist of the Year sponsored by Nuffield Health Cardiff and Vale – Chris Corbett (Caerphilly); Coach of the Year – Paul Llewellyn Crapper (Monmouthshire); Club of the Year sponsored by Kilsby and Williams – Bynea Cycling Club (Carmarthenshire); Colin Thornton Memorial Award for Welsh Junior Performance – Jessica Roberts (Carmarthenshire); Elite Performance of the Year sponsored by SD Sealants – Becky James (Monmouthshire); Lifetime Contribution to Cycling in Wales sponsored by Primal Europe – Alan Davis (Cardiff).