RAGLAN Parc’s finest were recognised at the golf club’s traditional end of season presentation evening.

Prior to members receiving their awards, club captain Alan Edwards and ladies’ captain Jacqueline Fogwill presented a cheque for £3,445.20 to Monmouth-based good cause Meeting the Needs.

The charity aims to help improve the quality of life for children with special needs.

Fogwill said she was overwhelmed by the generosity of everyone that had donated and felt it was extra special because the money would make a substantial difference.

She expressed her gratitude to those who had come to the aid of the captains’ charity choice for 2016, especially Edwards for his continued commitment and enthusiasm.

Charity representatives Deb Beach and Jill Jeremiah thanked members for their support – Meeting the Needs is self-funding and would struggle to maintain their work without the help it gets.

Ladies’ vice-captain Jackie Court then announced the winners of the ladies’ competitions.

The winners were: Winter Singles – Kath Morgan, runner-up Margaret Tranter; Winter Eclectic – (gross) Jacqueline Fogwill, (net) Kath Weare; Summer Eclectic – (gross) Jacqueline Hayes, (net) Jacqueline Fogwill; Net Cup – Nicky Edwards; Haycock Trophy – Helen Stother; Spring Cup – Nicky Edwards; Ladies’ Strokeplay – Jacqueline Hayes; Bronze Trophy – Sue Parker, runner-up Margaret Tranter; Crystal Trophy – Helen Stother; Par Cup – Jacqueline Fogwill; W.G. Lane Scroll – Aurial Maidment; Summer Pairs – Pat Perkins & Nicky Edwards, runners-up Margaret Tranter & Aurial Maidment; Compton Trophy – Lynne Jones; Tam-o-Shanter Quaich – Jacqueline Fogwill; High/Low Foursomes – Patricia Phillips & Pat Perkins; Keron Friese Memorial Trophy – Jackie Court; Eirlys French Cup – Karen Hill; Ladies’ Captain’s Trophy – Patricia Phillips, Margaret Tranter & Aurial Maidment; Wilkinson Cup – Jackie Court, runner-up Jacqueline Fogwill; Player of the Year – Jackie Court; Most Improved Player – Helen Stother; Most Birdies – Jacqueline Hayes; Ladies’ Club Champion – Jacqueline Hayes, runner-up Nicky Edwards.

Frank Ball, Edwards’ vice-captain, announced the winners of the men’s competitions.

The winners were: Seniors Cup – Nick Smith, runner-up Frank Ball; President’s Cup – Mark Howlett, runner-up Steve Forster; Rabbits Cup – Geoff Cambery, runner-up Tony Rowlands; Ian Bowen Foursomes – Mark Waggett & David Rutkowski, runners-up Jack Mayo & Billy Tew; Four-Ball Better-Ball – Brian Lewis & Terry Davies, runners-up Billy Tew & Jack Mayo; Cliff Evans Mixed – Patricia Phillips & Gareth Hopes, runners-up Kath Weare & Nigel Price; Cock O’ North – Jamie & Craig Teague; Robin Hood Cup – Steve Forster; Usk Trophy – Brian Lewis; Len Ashurst Trophy – Steve Forster; Miracle Shield Mixed Pairs – Steve & Sharron Forster; Raglan Grouse – Steve Butt; Bill James Shield – Jack Mayo; Bruce Tranter Cup – Daniel Nuttall; Jailhouse Jug – Terry Davies; Most Improved Player – Andrew Williams; Men’s Strokeplay – Gareth Dalgleish; Club Champion – Rob Collett, runner-up Ali Paton.

In the junior section, Daniel Nuttall won the Spring Cup, Spring Medal and junior player of the year, while he was also praised for being picked to play for Wales.

Edwards congratulated all the winners and thanked the green staff for all their hard work, managing director Nigel Price, catering staff, members and Fogwill for her dedication to the club.

President Wal Phillips also thanked both captains for their hard work during the year.