NEWPORT Gwent Dragons back row forward Ollie Griffiths has received his first Wales call-up for the summer tour to face Samoa and Tonga.

The 22-year-old from Newbridge has been rewarded for a stellar campaign with selection by interim boss Robin McBryde.

Griffiths, who has a preference for openside flanker but can also play blindside and number eight, is joined in the squad by back rowers Ellis Jenkins, James King, Josh Navidi and Thomas Young but there is no place for the Scarlets’ James Davies.

Griffiths is joined in the 32-strong party by Dragons teammates Tyler Morgan and Cory Hill.

Morgan won the last of his three caps against South Africa in the quarter-finals of the 2015 World Cup. The 21-year-old from Caerleon is recalled after being left out of the Six Nations squad and is joined in the squad by fellow midfield options Jamie Roberts, who is captain, Scott Williams and Cory Allen.

Hill made his Test debut against Australia last autumn and will tussle with Jake Ball, Adam Beard, Rory Thornton and Seb Davies for a starting spot.

Wales have resisted the temptation of bringing back Dragons wing/full-back Hallam Amos, who hasn’t played since suffering a shoulder injury against Australia but is close to being declared fit.

Wales take on Tonga in Auckland on Friday, June 16 and Samoa in Apia on Friday, June 23.

"We've got a good mix of experience and youth in this squad," said McBryde.

"The senior players will be expected to display their leadership qualities, and we want the younger men to show they've got what it takes to handle the intense international environment." 

Forwards: Scott Baldwin (Ospreys), Jake Ball (Scarlets), Adam Beard (Ospreys), Kristian Dacey (Cardiff Blues), Seb Davies (Cardiff Blues), Ryan Elias (Scarlets), Rob Evans (Scarlets), Tomas Francis (Exeter Chiefs), Ollie Griffiths (Newport Gwent Dragons), Cory Hill (Newport Gwent Dragons), Ellis Jenkins (Cardiff Blues), Wyn Jones (Scarlets), James King (Ospreys), Samson Lee (Scarlets), Josh Navidi (Cardiff Blues), Nicky Smith (Ospreys), Rory Thornton (Ospreys), Thomas Young (Wasps).

Backs: Cory Allen (Cardiff Blues), Gareth Anscombe (Cardiff Blues), Alex Cuthbert (Cardiff Blues), Aled Davies (Scarlets), Gareth Davies (Scarlets), Sam Davies (Ospreys), Steff Evans (Scarlets), Keelan Giles (Ospreys), Tyler Morgan (Newport Gwent Dragons), Jamie Roberts (captain, Harlequins), Owen Williams (Leicester Tigers), Rhun Williams (Cardiff Blues), Scott Williams (Scarlets), Tomos Williams (Cardiff Blues).