WALES National Velodrome is hosting a key event in the track cycling calendar with the British Cycling National Youth and Junior Track Championships taking place in Newport.

The competition runs through this week and showcases the very best in young talent rising through the ranks.

Video of racing yesterday:

Lauren Bate won her second title of the week in Newport on day three of the British Cycling National Youth and Junior Track Championships.

Stars of the future are in action at the Wales National Velodrome all this weeks with the prestigious national champion’s jerseys up for grabs.

And Bate has added the junior women’s sprint title to the time trial honours won earlier in the week.

Team Terminator’s Bate set the early pace in qualification for the sprint, posting the quickest time of 11.620.

Keirin champion Georgia Hilleard was the only other rider to go under 12 seconds – and the duo locked horns once again in the final.

But it was Bate who came out on top to win her second title of the week, beating the Wolverhampton Wheelers CC rider 2-0 in the final.

Bronze went to Aleshia Mellor of Lyme RC who beat Alexandra Novacki (Sportcity Velo) 2-0.

CC Ashwell’s Sophie Lewis won the scratch race following her excellent performance in the points heats on Tuesday.

Lewis beat Team Jadan-Weldtite’s Elena Smith into second place, with Amy Cole (Cycle Specific CC) taking third.

Madison silver medallist Lauren Dolan reached the top step of the podium in the junior women’s points race.

Along with Rachel Jary (VC Londres), the Liv CC - Epic Coaching rider took a lap on the rest of the field, with the gold medal coming down to the final sprint.

Dolan crossed the line first to take gold, with Ellie Russell, winner of four sprints, taking bronze on 20 points.

Rhys Britton and Jake Stewart successfully retained their male youth Madison title.

Britton (Bush Healthcare CRT) and Stewart (Swinnerton Cycles) won points on every sprint, dominating the field to claim gold with 48 points.

Second place went to Jacob Vaughan and Fred Wright of VC Londres on 37 points, with Joseph Nally ( and William Tidball (PH-MAS-Milnes-Oldfield) in third on 28.

In the male youth points race, three riders took a lap on the rest of the field forcing a decisive sprint on the final lap to decide the medals.

VC Londres’ Oscar Nilsson-Julien crossed the line second, which was good enough for the win on 31 points.

Teammate Leo Hayter finished behind him for silver on 27 points beating James Code (Team Backstedt-Hotchillee) who also had 27 points by virtue of a better placing on the final sprint.

The new junior men’s keirin champion is Lewis Stewart (Glasgow CT).

Stewart crossed the line first to take the title, with Christopher Heaton (Sportcity Velo) second and bronze going to Hamish Turnbull (Speedflex RT).

The performance of day one went to Liv CC – Epic Coaching’s Anna Docherty and Pfeiffer Georgi who dominated the junior women’s Madison.

The duo won five of the eight sprints in the 80km race to take 30 points on their way to winning gold.

Team Corley Cycles' Ethan Vernon set a new national record in a sensational performance to win the junior individual pursuit title.

The new youth men’s sprint champion is James Bunting, who came from behind to beat Sportcity Velo’s Arthur Taggart 2-1.
Hilleard claimed the junior women’s keirin title in a thrilling contest on day two of the championships.

The Wolverhampton Wheelers rider pipped the recently junior time trial champion Bate to claim the gold.

Tom Pidcock (PH-MAS-Milnes-Oldfield) added to his impressive list of honours by claiming the junior men’s scratch title.

Zoe Backstedt (Maindy Flyers Youth CC) is the female youth points champion, beating Elynor Backstedt (Team Backstedt-Hotchilee) to the gold.

Lewis Askey won the male youth 2km individual pursuit title, beating Cardiff JIF’s Zach Bridges in the final.

The championships began on Monday and conclude on Friday.

Racing begins at 10am each day, with each session culminating in podium presentations for the newly crowned champions.

Newport Live are hosting the event, with spectating free for all and refreshments available to purchase at the velodrome.