NEWPORT avenged their defeat to Panteg in last season’s Macey Shield final by clinching a six-wicket win over the same opponents to take the trophy this term.

Put into bat on a damp wicket at Newport Fugitives, Panteg scored 16 runs in the first two overs before Lloyd Smith and Ian Thomas were out lbw for five and 11 respectively.

Skipper Ian Bird soon followed them back to the pavilion having scored just six, but James Reid was looking comfortable.

He and Dan Wilkinson had added 20 more when their stand was broken by young Mo Aqdas, who claimed the wicket of Wilkinson for 11 with the score on 47-4 off nine overs.

The Newport bowlers quickly established a grip on the game as Panteg slipped to 79-6, with Callum Taylor and young Jack Wright claiming further wickets.

Reid was the only batsman to trouble the Newport bowlers and a late flurry of runs took him to an unbeaten 43.

James Taylor added 17 not out at the end of the innings as Panteg closed on 118-6.

Newport got off to a useful start in reply with Imran Hassan showing his attacking flair.

However, Olly Burland and then Mark Wallace were dismissed, before Michael Clayden came in to steady the innings.

He and Hassan took the score to 63-3 in 10 overs when Clayden was out for 11.

Hassan was batting superbly, scoring runs to all parts, and established a match-winning partnership with Callum Taylor.

Cruising on 108-3 off 16 overs, Newport suddenly lost their bearings.

The fall of Callum Taylor for 29 led to a flurry of wickets, leaving Newport needing eight off the final two overs.

But with Hassan still at the crease, Aqdas hit the winning runs with three balls to spare.

Man of the match Hassan finished on 64 not out off 49 balls, while Newport captain Matt Norris received the Macey Shield from Nick Macey of competition sponsors Macey Sports.