WALES will open their World Cup 2019 campaign against Georgia.

Warren Gatland's men will take on their European rivals, who they host this autumn, in Toyota on Monday, September 23 (kick-off 11.15am).

They then tackle Pool D top seeds Australia in Tokyo on Sunday, September 29 (kick-off 8.45am).

Wales take on Fiji in Oita on Wednesday, October 9 (kick-off 10.45am) before ending the group stages against 'Americas 2' - potentially former Dragons boss Kingsley Jones' Canada - in Kumamoto on Sunday, October 13 (kick-off 9.15am).

“It is good to have the full details announced as the excitement for the tournament continues to grow,” said Gatland.

“We have spoken recently about our aims and belief for 2019 and how our focus over the next two years is to provide a platform for us to peak in Japan. 

“With this announcement we can continue our planning and preparation for the tournament in finer detail.

“We kick off the tournament against Georgia before facing Australia, both of whom we play this November in Cardiff.  We then have a good block of time before facing Fiji in Oita, before the short turnaround before our final pool encounter versus Americas 2.

“We have four cities to visit so it is important we buy into the culture of Japan and the tournament.”

Champions New Zealand start their bid for a third successive title against South Africa in Yokohama on September 21.

Wales finished fourth in 2011 and lost in the quarter-finals to the Springboks in 2015.

Pool A: Ireland, Scotland, Japan, Europe 1, play-off winner (Europe 2 v Oceania 3)

Pool B: New Zealand, South Africa, Italy, Africa 1, repechage winner

Pool C: England, France, Argentina, USA, Tonga

Pool D: Australia, Wales, Georgia, Fiji, Americas 2

Wales fixtures
Georgia - Monday, September 23 (11.15am)
Australia - Sunday, September 29 (8.45am)
Fiji - Wednesday, October 9 (10.45am)
Americas 2 - Sunday, October 13 (9.15am)