DRAGONS lock Ed Scragg returns to the Wales Under-20s side for Friday's Six Nations finale against Grand Slam-chasing Ireland in Colwyn Bay (kick-off 7.05pm), writes Chris Kirwan.

Head coach Gareth Williams has made five changes to his XV after the disappointing performance in defeat to Scotland in Edinburgh.

Somerset-born Scragg, who is from the Exiles programme and is following the Dragons' Aaron Wainwright route by playing for Cardiff Met, is promoted from the bench after making an impact in the 27-20 loss in Scotland.

The lock was a replacement against France and started against Italy, where he scored a try, and England.

Scragg is joined in the side to face the Irish by Rodney Parade teammates centre Aneurin Owen, who has started in every round, and scrum-half Dafydd Buckland.

Hooker Will Griffiths, prop Tom Devine and scrum-half Dan Babos are among the replacements along with Bristol tighthead Nick English, who is from Caldicot.

Scarlets wing Tomi Lewis, Ospreys centre Tiaan Thomas-Wheeler, Leicester fly-half Sam Costelow and Ospreys loosehead Rhys Davies join Scragg in coming into the team.

Wales' loss in Scotland ended their title hopes while Ireland won a thriller against France in Cork to travel with the silverware secured but a clean sweep in their sights.

"It was a big aim of ours to win the championship but that is obviously off the table after our disappointing defeat to Scotland last time out but Friday is still a Test match at international level, against a traditional rival in Ireland so I'm sure it will be a fantastic occasion," said Williams.

"Ireland will be very driven to finish the job off after claiming the championship with one round to go but if we show the quality and passion from the England game then we should be able to give a good account of ourselves."

Wales U20: Cai Evans (Ospreys), Tomi Lewis (Scarlets), Tiaan Thomas-Wheeler (Ospreys), Aneurin Owen (Dragons), Ioan Davies (Cardiff Blues),Sam Costelow (Leicester Tigers), Dafydd Buckland (Dragons); Rhys Davies (Ospreys), Dewi Lake (Ospreys, captain), Ben Warren (Cardiff Blues), Ed Scragg (Dragons), Teddy Williams (Cardiff Blues), Ellis Thomas (Llanelli), Jac Morgan (Aberarvon/Scarlets), Iestyn Rees (Scarlets).

Replacements: Will Griffiths (Dragons), Tom Devine (Dragons), Nick English (Bristol Bears), Jac Price (Scarlets), Ioan Rhys Davies (Cardiff Blues), Dan Babos (Dragons), Max Llewellyn (Cardiff Blues), Ryan Conbeer (Scarlets)