A ROLE reversal of the seniors sees Wales attempting to deny Ireland a Grand Slam in the Under-20s Six Nations tonight, writes Chris Kirwan.

The Irish head to Colwyn Bay (kick-off 7.05pm) hunting a clean sweep thanks to a thrilling win against France in Cork last time out.

That success combined with Wales' loss in Scotland ensured that there will be green ribbons on the trophy at Parc Eirias tonight.

However, home coach Gareth Williams wants his side to be party poopers as they continue to build towards June's World Rugby U20 Championship, where they will lock horns with hosts Argentina, the French and Fiji.

“We know Ireland are seeking a Grand Slam, but we are focused on ourselves," said former sevens supremo Williams after a first campaign at the helm.

"We’re appreciative on how well they have done this campaign and they are a real threat and possess leadership across the park. But the boys are determined to finish the campaign off on a high note."

Dragons lock Ed Scragg, scrum-half Dafydd Buckland and centre Aneurin Owen start while hooker Will Griffiths, prop Tom Devine and scrum-half Dan Babos are among the replacements.

Influential forwards Taine Basham and Lennon Greggains are not available as the Rodney Parade region are down to the bare of bones in the back row.

Wales head into the final round in fourth place, two points behind the French and a point back on England.

Ireland make just one change to the XV that edged out France 31-29 but there is no place in the squad for James McCarthy.

The former Newport High School Old Boys winger, on the books of Munster, was on the bench against Les Bleuets.

Wales U20: Cai Evans (Ospreys), Tomi Lewis (Scarlets), Tiaan Thomas-Wheeler (Ospreys), Aneurin Owen (Dragons), Ioan Davies (Cardiff Blues),Sam Costelow (Leicester Tigers), Dafydd Buckland (Dragons); Rhys Davies (Ospreys), Dewi Lake (Ospreys, captain), Ben Warren (Cardiff Blues), Ed Scragg (Dragons), Teddy Williams (Cardiff Blues), Ellis Thomas (Llanelli), Jac Morgan (Aberarvon/Scarlets), Iestyn Rees (Scarlets).

Replacements: Will Griffiths (Dragons), Tom Devine (Dragons), Nick English (Bristol Bears), Jac Price (Scarlets), Ioan Rhys Davies (Cardiff Blues), Dan Babos (Dragons), Max Llewellyn (Cardiff Blues), Ryan Conbeer (Scarlets)