DRAGONS back row forward Taine Basham will miss the World Rugby U20 Championship after suffering a finger injury in Wales’ final warm-up.

The 19-year-old from Talywain, who was named as the region’s young player of the year on Friday, suffered the blow in the friendly encounter with South Africa last week.

It means that the dynamic back row forward, who scored a hat-trick in the Six Nations win in Italy, misses out on the 28-man squad for the tournament in Argentina between June 4 and 22 but eight of his Dragons teammates are included.

South Wales Argus: CALLED UP: Dragons centre Aneurin OwenCALLED UP: Dragons centre Aneurin Owen

Wings Rio Dyer and Deon Smith, centre Aneurin Owen, scrum-half Dafydd Buckland, prop Tom Devine, hooker Will Griffiths, lock Ed Scragg and flanker Lennon Greggains have got the call from head coach Gareth Williams.

The side will be led by Ospreys hooker Dewi Lake, who impressed during the Six Nations when taking over the captaincy when Leicester flanker Tommy Reffell was injured.

Only one player – hooker Garin Lloyd – did not feature in the Six Nations but boss Williams said he was given food for thought by the wider squad with the Wales Under-19s showing up well against Japan High Schools and England.

“It has proved a tough process coming to the final selection but we are really excited with the squad we are taking away to the Junior Championship. The wider group of players put a lot of pressure on the incumbents,” said the head coach.

“It’s fantastic to be back in training with the players and building towards a physical group with Argentina, France and Fiji.”

Wales U20 Junior World Championship squad

Forwards: Rhys Davies (Ospreys), Tom Devine (Dragons), Dewi Lake (Ospreys - captain), Will Griffiths (Dragons), Garin Lloyd (Ospreys) Ben Warren (Cardiff Blues), Kemsley Mathias (Scarlets), Nick English (Bristol Bears) Jac Price (Scarlets), Morgan Jones (Scarlets), Teddy Williams (Cardiff Blues), Ed Scragg (Dragons), Lennon Greggains (Dragons), Jac Morgan (Scarlets/Aberavon), Tommy Reffell (Leicester Tigers), Iestyn Rees (Scarlets)

Backs: Harri Morgan (Ospreys), Dafydd Buckland (Dragons), Cai Evans (Ospreys), Sam Costelow (Leicester Tigers), Aneurin Owen (Dragons), Tiaan Thomas-Wheeler (Ospreys), Max Llewellyn (Cardiff Blues), Ryan Conbeer (Scarlets), Rio Dyer (Dragons), Deon Smith (Dragons), Ioan Davies (Cardiff Blues), Tomi Lewis (Scarlets)