FORMER Dragons speedster Hallam Amos will start at full-back in Wales’ World Cup finale against New Zealand on Friday.

The25-year-old from Monmouthshire, who swapped Rodney Parade for Cardiff Blues at the end of the season, makes his second appearance of the tournament in the third-place play-off in Tokyo (kick-off 9am).

Amos started on the wing in the group stage win against Uruguay and endured a frustrating evening, having two tries disallowed for forward passes and blowing a golden opportunity to cross after dropping the ball with a needless dive.

The ex-Dragon, who started all three Tests on the summer tour to New Zealand in 2016, gets the chance to put that off-day behind him as part of a much-changed Wales team from the agonising semi-final loss to South Africa.

South Wales Argus:

The five-day turnaround prompts boss Warren Gatland to tinker with his line-up for his final match in charge, with full-back Leigh Halfpenny (concussion), wing George North (hamstring), tighthead Tomas Francis (shoulder) and flanker Aaron Wainwright (hamstring) joining the injury list.

Owen Lane, who was called up to the squad last week, starts on the wing in place of North, Owen Watkin replaces Hadleigh Parkes in midfield and there are new half-backs in Rhys Patchell and Tomos Williams.

Nicky Smith gets the nod at loosehead with Dillon Lewis on the other side of the scrum while Adam Beard is preferred to Jake Ball alongside captain Alun Wyn Jones in the second row.

James Davies is chosen as Wainwright’s replacement with Justin Tipuric moving to blindside.

Dragons number eight Ross Moriarty starts with Rodney Parade teammate Elliot Dee among the bench – both have played in every game of the tournament.

Wing Josh Adams makes a seventh successive start in the tournament, requiring one try to break Shane Williams's Wales World Cup record of six touchdowns.

New Zealand coach Steve Hansen has also rung the changes as he has named his side to face Wales in the bronze-medal match on Friday.

Hansen has created space for his departing veterans with captain Kieran Read, centres Sonny Bill Williams and Ryan Crotty, and wing Ben Smith all named to start.

Just eight starters from New Zealand's 19-7 semi-final loss to England have been named.

Wales: H Amos (Cardiff Blues); O Lane (Cardiff Blues), J Davies (Scarlets), O Watkin (Ospreys), J Adams (Cardiff Blues); R Patchell (Scarlets), T Williams (Cardiff Blues); N Smith (Ospreys), K Owens (Scarlets), D Lewis (Cardiff Blues), A Beard (Ospreys), A W Jones (Ospreys, captain), J Tipuric (Ospreys), J Davies (Scarlets), R Moriarty (Dragons).

Replacements: E Dee (Dragons), R Carre (Saracens), W Jones (Scarlets), J Ball (Scarlets), A Shingler (Scarlets), G Davies (Scarlets), D Biggar (Northampton), H Parkes (Scarlets).

New Zealand: B Barrett; B Smith, R Crotty, S Bill-Williams, R Ioane; R Mo'unga; A Smith; J Moody, D Coles, N Laulala, B Retallick, S Barrett, S Frizzell, S Cane, K Read (captain).

Replacements:L  Coltman, A Moli, A Ta'avao, P Tuipulotu, M Todd, B Weber, A Lienert-Brown, J Barrett.

Referee: Wayne Barnes (England)