NEWPORT will be keen to put on a show for viewers tonight when their Premiership clash with Aberavon at Rodney Parade gets the television treatment (kick-off 7.05pm).

The Black and Ambers’ long-awaited appearance in front of the cameras comes less than a week after they snatched a last-gasp 38-36 win in Bridgend.

Their opponents fought back from 28-3 down with half an hour to play to lead as the clock went into the red, but a dramatic Matt O’Brien penalty saved Newport’s blushes.

Third-placed Aberavon won a similarly pulsating encounter in the corresponding fixture against the Black and Ambers last season, coming back to snatch a 38-35 triumph on Newport soil.

Aberavon haven’t played since thrashing Bridgend on Boxing Day and now find themselves 20 points behind league leaders Cardiff with two games in hand.

Tonight’s match is the first for Newport since the departure of hooker Evan Whitson, who has moved to Hong Kong after 75 appearances over seven seasons for the city side.

The 24-year-old has taken up an opportunity as a chartered surveyor, but he will continue to play rugby for Kowloon RFC, coached by ex-Newport fly-half Scott Sneddon.

Other familiar faces won’t be too far away with former Newport coaches Dai Rees and Lee Jones involved in running rugby in Hong Kong and Adam Frampton also playing there.

Elsewhere, Ebbw Vale go to Llandovery tomorrow (kick-off 2.30pm) after pushing reigning champions Merthyr so close last Friday.

The Steelmen had to settle for a losing bonus point, despite looking like they would end their run of three losses.

Newport (home to Aberavon): D Richards; H Lang, J Morris, G O'Driscoll, E Frewen; M O'Brien, L Crane; L Smout, M Dwyer, T Piper, H Taylor, J Bartlett, A Mann, K Tayler, R Jenkins. Reps: L Jones, J Jeune, G Harris, J Reid, M Burgess, G Watkin, H Griffiths, C Edwards.

Ebbw Vale (at Llandovery): D Haymond; M Powell, P King, E Phillips, A Grabham; D Langdon, M Flanagan; R Jones, R Francis, R Sevenoaks, C Talbot, A Sweet (capt), D Hill, D Rubasniak, L Young. Reps: J Harries, M Blake, D Whiting, M Ayling, D Franchi, D Jones, R Evans, E Rosser.