GWENT Sword Club are once again Welsh champions, with their women’s foil team reclaiming the title they previously held from 2009 to 2017, writes Carl Difford.

For the past two years, the Gwent women were forced to settle for silver behind Cardiff-based Russell Swords, but this year they stamped their authority, with the Gwent B trio finishing second behind the A team in the Welsh Team Championships, held in Cardiff.

The men’s A team couldn’t quite regain the title they won in 2018, but matched last year’s finish with silver medals behind Russell Swords Black.

The Gwent B and C teams finished fifth and sixth, respectively.

Women’s teams: Gwent A: Rhiannon Craig, Catherine Fisher, Carlie Morgan; Gwent B: Alison Macklin, Anna McGoldrick, Maggie Myers.

Men’s teams: Gwent A: Hugh Kocan, Celyn Lewis, Richard Thomas; Gwent B: Mike Bridge, Mike Kocan, Naoise Williams; Gwent C: Steve Denton, David Lloyd, Ian Macklin.