GERWYN Price lost in the final to world champion Peter Wright in the fifth and last PDC Summer Series event.

Price, world number three, beat William O'Connor, Darius Labanauskas, Jose De Sousa, James Wade and Devon Petersen to make it to the final in Milton Keynes.

However, Wright was in top form and the Scottish world number two triumphed 8-2 to move top of the Summer Series order of merit and claim £22,000 in prize money. Markham's Price was fifth on £10,000.

Wright, for whom it was a third ranking title of the year, said on "I'm pleased to win and it's great for me.

"It could have been two wins, but I wanted to be top of the Summer Series order of merit and I knew I had to win today, so I've done that.

"It's ideal preparation for the World Matchplay and it's good to be back playing."

The World Matchplay starts on Saturday behind closed doors at the Marshall Arena in Milton Keynes and runs until Sunday, July 26.

Price has been drawn against Danny Noppert and will aim to pick up where he left off after finding his form in the Summer Series, which ran over five days.

The 35-year-old had his best run of the week and averaged over 100 on his way to the final, including a 113 average against Labanauskas.

Price finished fifth in the 128-man Summer Series after making the last 64 on day one, last 32 on day two, last 16 on day three, last 32 on day four before being runner-up on Sunday.

Cwmbran's Nick Kenny, in his first year in the PDC after moving from the BDO, found the going tough in the Summer Series, losing all five of his matches.

He was beaten 6-2 by Gabriel Clemens on opening day, 6-0 by Mensur Suljovic, then was edged out 6-5 by Martin Atkins, 6-4 by Jeffrey de Zwaan and 6-3 by Simon Whitlock.

World Matchplay draw

(1) Michael van Gerwen v Brendan Dolan

(16) Simon Whitlock v Ryan Joyce

(8) Gary Anderson v Justin Pipe

(9) James Wade v Keegan Brown

(4) Rob Cross v Gabriel Clemens

(13) Krzysztof Ratajski v Jermaine Wattimena

(5) Michael Smith v Jonny Clayton

(12) Mensur Suljovic v Jamie Hughes

(2) Peter Wright v Jose De Sousa

(15) Glen Durrant v Jeffrey de Zwaan

(7) Daryl Gurney v Ricky Evans

(10) Dave Chisnall v Vincent van der Voort

(3) Gerwyn Price v Danny Noppert

(14) Adrian Lewis v Steve Beaton

(6) Nathan Aspinall v Dimitri Van den Bergh

(11) Ian White v Joe Cullen