DRAGONS boss Dean Ryan has made four changes to his side ahead of their opening home game of the new PRO14 season tomorrow night.

Prop Leon Brown and Jordan Williams come back into the squad after missing out on the trip to Leinster through injury.

Wales international Brown, and full back Williams will both make their first PRO14 appearances of the season, last featuring in the European Challenge Cup defeat to Bristol Bears.


The pair replace Aaron Jarvis, who drops to the bench, and Will Talbot-Davies, who misses out entirely.

Matthew Screech is called up to partner Joe Davies in the second row, having been dropped to the bench in Dublin.

And with Aaron Wainwright absent through injury, Taine Basham is named at openside flanker, with Harrison Keddie moving to blindside.

Prop Greg Bateman could make his first appearance for Dragons after being named among the replacements.

There is also a call-up to the bench for back row talent Ben Fry.

“We’re in a good place and looking forward to a first game on home soil,” said Ryan.

“We know when Zebre have their international players they are a real threat. They have a real physical presence around their set piece too.

“We have to answer the physical challenge up front and we have to make sure we have them under control to be able to get the result that we want.

“We’ve made some changes to the team, but at the same time we are trying to keep the majority together with some continuity,” he added.

“We are one game into the season so we have to get some continuity going and look to see some improvement before we lose our internationals.”

The visitors will be looking for a repeat of last season's game at Rodney Parade, which ended in a 39-12 win for the Italians.

Head coach Michael Bradley has made five changes for the trip to Newport from their defeat in Cardiff.

Captain Giulio Bisegni will make his 100th appearance for the club.

Dragons: Jordan Williams, Jonah Holmes, Nick Tompkins, Jamie Roberts, Ashton Hewitt, Sam Davies, Rhodri Williams (c); Brok Harris, Elliot Dee, Leon Brown, Joe Davies, Matthew Screech, Harrison Keddie, Taine Basham, Ross Moriarty.

Replacements: Richard Hibbard, Greg Bateman, Aaron Jarvis, Joe Maksymiw, Ben Fry, Tavis Knoyle, Josh Lewis, Adam Warren.

Zebre: Jacopo Trulla, Junior Laloifi, Giulio Bisegni (c), Federico Mori, Mattia Bellini, Carlo Canna, Guglielmo Palazzani; Daniele Rimpelli, Marco Manfredi, Eduardo Bello, Leonard Krumov, Ian Nagle, Maxime Mbandà, Johan Meyer, David Sisi.

Replacements: Massimo Ceciliani, Danilo Fischetti, Joshua Zilocchi, Cristian Stoian, Mick Kearney, Nicolò Casilio, Antonio Rizzi, Lorenzo Masselli.