JOSH Lewis will make his first Dragons start in 18 months against Munster at Rodney Parade tomorrow (kick-off 2pm) – at full-back rather than his usual fly-half.

The 28-year-old missed the entire 2019/20 Guinness PRO14 campaign after rupturing knee ligaments in pre-season.

The playmaker returned as a replacement in the European Challenge Cup quarter-final loss at Bristol in September and came off the bench against Leinster in the PRO14 opener at the start of the month.


Lewis missed last week’s heavy loss at Ulster after suffering a blow to the head in a friendly against the Scarlets but returns as a starter at Rodney Parade tomorrow.

South Wales Argus:

He replaces Jonah Holmes, who was released by Wales for game time in Belfast, while the Dragons continue with a gradual return to action for livewire Jordan Williams after his comeback from a serious knee injury.

The Dragons are forced into a change on the wing with Owen Jenkins coming in for the injured Jared Rosser while former Wales and Lions centre Jamie Roberts replaces Jack Dixon.

Ben Fry gets the nod ahead of Taine Basham in the back row and Brok Harris comes in for the injured Greg Bateman.

Highly-rated 19-year-old lock Ben Carter could make his debut off the bench, where he is joined by fit-again prop Aaron Jarvis.

Back coach Gordon Ross will be in charge of the Dragons with director of rugby Dean Ryan self-isolating along with other members of his management team after an unnamed individual tested positive for coronavirus.

Munster name World Cup-winning centre Damian de Allende in their XV – putting the hard-running Springbok on a collision course with Roberts.

Dragons: J Lewis; O Jenkins, A Warren, J Roberts, A Hewitt; S Davies, R Williams (captain); B Harris, R Hibbard, L Fairbrother, J Davies, M Screech, B Fry, H Keddie, O Griffiths.

Replacements: E Shipp, C Maguire, A Jarvis, B Carter, T Basham, T Knoyle, J Dixon, D Howells.

Munster: M Gallagher; C Nash, R Scannell, D de Allende, D Sweetnam; JJ Hanrahan, C Casey; J Wycherley, K O’Byrne, K Knox, J Kleyn, B Holland (captain), J O’Donoghue, C Cloete, G Coombes.

Replacements: D Barron, J Cronin, S Archer, T Ahern, T O’Donnell, N McCarthy, J Flannery, J O’Sullivan.