NEWPORT County AFC manager James Rowberry is focused on twin targets after a fruitful first summer recruitment drive.

The Exiles have brought in seven players so far and are closing in on the boss’ target for 22 players in his senior squad.

Liverpool loan left-back Adam Lewis became the latest recruit on Wednesday night, following central defender Declan Drysdale (Coventry), midfielders Sam Bowen (Cardiff), Aaron Wildig (Morecambe) and strikers Will Evans (Bala), Chanka Zimba (Cardiff, loan) and Offranda Zanzala (Barrow) through the door.

“I want to do two more – ideally I’d like a centre forward and an attacking midfielder,” said Rowberry, who was appointed in mid-October.

“We don’t always live in an ideal world but we have had great support from the board so far and they are helping us as much as they can.

“The individuals need to be the right fit for us and we have our list of targets, but are also under no illusions that things can change at the drop of a hat.

South Wales Argus: MOVE: Declan Drysdale (left) has signed for Newport CountyMOVE: Declan Drysdale (left) has signed for Newport County

“We have had to fight off some good clubs to get the signings that we have made so far and as you get further into the window things can get even more challenging.

"That is why I am so pleased to have got those that we have target so far in as early as we have.”

County will have a new-look in the final third next season after the loss of strikers Dom Telford and Courtney Baker-Richardson plus the return of influential loanees Finn Azaz, Ollie Cooper and Jake Cain to their parent clubs.

Two more signings would take the Exiles to a 22-strong squad with Rowberry counting prospect Harrison Bright in with his seniors.

Up-and-comers Evan Ovendale, Joe Woodiwiss, Sonny Lewis, Jack Karadogan and Lewys Twamley will also bid to impress in pre-season.

Current County senior squad
Goalkeepers: Nick Townsend, Joe Day.
Full-backs: Cameron Norman, Aaron Lewis, Adam Lewis, Harrison Bright.
Central defenders: Mickey Demetriou, James Clarke, Priestley Farquharson, Declan Drysdale.
Defender/midfielders: Scot Bennett, Matty Dolan.
Midfield: Robbie Willmott, Sam Bowen, James Waite, Aaron Wildig.
Forwards: Lewis Collins, Will Evans, Chanka Zimba, Offrande Zanzala.