OLYMPIAN Sam Cross is part of a big Gwent contingent heading to the Commonwealth Games with Wales Sevens.

The Ospreys back row forward, capped twice in XVs, will return to the shortened format in a bid to add to the silver medal he won with Team GB at Rio 2016.

Cross, from Brynmawr, is joined in the 13-man squad by Dragons winger Ewan Rosser, Gwent pair Lloyd Lewis and Tyler Morgan and ex-Dragons speedster Owen Jenkins.

Wales will go up against Fiji, Canada and Zambia in Pool C of the tournament with games held in Coventry between July 29 and 31.

"It's been a tough selection process," said Welsh Rugby Union head of sevens Richie Pugh. "The squad is based mostly around boys who have been involved in our World Sevens campaign, adding the experience of Olympic silver medallist Sam Cross from the Ospreys and we've also kept Tyler Morgan after the Toulouse and London legs.

"Their pedigree certainly adds great value to the squad. There were some tough calls but that's international sport, that's the competitive environment we want to create.

"We've had some good competitions in rugby Europe recently, with players gaining quality game time in difficult conditions which bodes well."

South Wales Argus: RAPID: Lloyd LewisRAPID: Lloyd Lewis

Rosser, 21 and the younger brother of Jared, has been getting experience with Wales while ex-Dragons academy winger Lewis, who recently left Pontypool RFC, has been a regular on the sevens circuit and is WRU-contracted.

Former Dragons centre Morgan, a full international from Caerleon, was called up last season when his contract at the Scarlets was running out.

Jenkins earned a Dragons deal in 2019 thanks to his sevens exploits and returned to the circuit last year.

Outside back Cole Swannock has been listed as Newport RFC by the WRU after being with Pontypridd last season, although the Black and Ambers have not announced his signing.

Wales squad: Luke Treharne, Tyler Morgan, Morgan Sieniawski, Sam Cross, Tom Brown, Callum Williams, Owen Jenkins, Tom Williams, Morgan Williams, Cole Swannack, Lloyd Lewis, Ewan Rosser, Callum Carson.