DRAGONS flanker Dan Lydiate will miss a swift reunion with the Ospreys after suffering a rib injury on his Rodney Parade return.

The 35-year-old Wales and Lions forward suffered the blow against the Leinster last Sunday and is forced to drop out of the XV for tomorrow’s United Rugby Championship derby in Newport (kick-off 5.15pm).

Lydiate is denied the chance to lock horns with the Ospreys, who released him at the end of last season due to cost-cutting.

The Dragons are also without the suspended Taine Basham and that means Sean Lonsdale and Ollie Griffiths come into the side to join World Cup star Aaron Wainwright in the back row.

Head coach Dai Flanagan makes six changes in total to the side that lost 33-10 with the most eye-catching being a first professional start for Ewan Rosser, who comes in for his older brother Jared (concussion).

The 22-year-old Wales Sevens international made his debut off the bench against Munster and replaced his sibling against Leinster.

South Wales Argus: IN: Sio Tomkinson starts for the Dragons ahead of captain Steff HughesIN: Sio Tomkinson starts for the Dragons ahead of captain Steff Hughes (Image: Huw Evans Agency)Club captain Steff Hughes drops to the bench with Sio Tomkinson getting the nod alongside Aneurin Owen in midfield.

There are two changes in the tight five with lock Ben Carter returning from a knock suffered playing for Wales against the Barbarians while fit-again Bradley Roberts starts with Wales hooker Elliot Dee in the impact sub role.

The Dragons are still without Wales tighthead Leon Brown with Chris Coleman getting the nod ahead of Luke Yendle as Lloyd Fairbrother's back-up.

Wales captain and flanker Jac Morgan makes his Ospreys return as a replacement while George North starts at centre after being a replacement in the defeat to Glasgow.

Former Dragons hooker Sam Parry is back from injury on the bench where he is joined by wing Daniel Kasende, the first of the on-loan Cheetahs players to feature for the west Walians.

Dragons: Cai Evans; Rio Dyer, Sio Tomkinson, Aneurin Owen, Ewan Rosser; Will Reed, Rhodri Williams (captain); Rhodri Jones, Bradley Roberts, Lloyd Fairbrother, Matthew Screech, Ben Carter, Sean Lonsdale, Ollie Griffiths, Aaron Wainwright.

Replacements: Elliot Dee, Aki Seiuli, Chris Coleman, George Nott, Ryan Woodman, Dane Blacker, Steff Hughes, Ashton Hewitt.

Ospreys: Max Nagy; Luke Morgan, George North, Owen Watkin, Mat Protheroe; Jack Walsh, Rueben Morgan-Williams; Nicky Smith, Dewi Lake, Tom Botha, Rhys Davies, Adam Beard, James Ratti, Justin Tipuric (captain), Morgan Morris.

Replacements: Sam Parry, Gareth Thomas, Ben Warren, James Fender, Jac Morgan, Luke Davies, Daniel Kasende, Luke Scully.

Referee: Ben Whitehouse (Wales)