WALES forwards Bradley Roberts and Taine Basham have been dropped by the Dragons for the home New Year’s Day derby against the Scarlets (kick-off 5.15pm).

Head coach Dai Flanagan has made eight changes to his starting line-up after the Boxing Day hammering by Cardiff at the Arms Park.

Hooker Roberts and flanker Basham go from the XV to missing out on the matchday 23 – both are selection decisions and not down to injury.

James Benjamin gets the nod at the heart of the front row with Brodie Coghlan his back-up while Dan Lydiate starts at blindside.

The Rosser brothers come in on the wings, Jared on the right and Ewan on the left, with Wales speedster Rio Dyer out with concussion.

South Wales Argus: FULL DEBUT: Dragons centre Harri AckermanFULL DEBUT: Dragons centre Harri Ackerman (Image: Huw Evans Agency)

Cai Evans returns to full-back with Will Reed starting at 10 while it is a young midfield with Harri Ackerman, who recently turned 19, making his first Dragons start alongside Aneurin Owen.

The teenager from Newbridge made his professional debut as a late replacement in the Challenge Cup win against Oyonnax at the start of December.

The inexperience of Reed, Ackerman and Owen means that 30-year-old Rhodri Williams gets a shot at redemption as starting scrum-half.

Up front there are chances for Argentina loosehead Rodrigo Martinez, James Benjamin and Sean Lonsdale at lock.

Flanagan opts for six forwards on his bench with fit-again Ollie Griffiths preferred to Basham and Wales Under-20s Ryan Woodman set for another opportunity.

The Scarlets are boosted by the return of Wales fly-half Sam Costelow while Vaea Fifita adds power from number eight.

He joins forces with Josh Macleod and Sam Louisi for what should be an explosive back row contest.

Dragons: Cai Evans; Jared Rosser, Aneurin Owen, Harri Ackerman, Ewan Rosser; Will Reed, Rhodri Williams (captain); Rodrigo Martinez, James Benjamin, Lloyd Fairbrother, Sean Lonsdale, George Nott, Dan Lydiate, Harri Keddie, Aaron Wainwright.

Replacements: Brodie Coghlan, Rhodri Jones, Leon Brown, Joe Davies, Ryan Woodman, Ollie Griffiths, Dane Blacker, Corey Baldwin.

Scarlets: Ioan Lloyd; Tom Rogers, Joe Roberts, Johnny Williams, Steff Evans; Sam Costelow, Gareth Davies; Kemsley Mathias, Ryan Elias, Sam Wainwright, Alex Craig, Morgan Jones, Sam Lousi, Josh Macleod (captain), Vaea Fifita.

Replacements: Shaun Evans, Wyn Jones, Joe Jones, Jac Price, Ben Williams, Kieran Hardy, Jonathan Davies, Ioan Nicholas.

Referee: Craig Evans (Wales)